Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#205174 - 17/02/2004 11:06 need help transporting a miata in Florida
f_devocht

Loc: Belgium
I've bought a miata in Ft. Lauderdale and I need to get it up to Jacksonville (to ship it back to Belgium) somewhere between feb 26 and march 1st.

Problem is that the car is not registered and I cannot get a temp tag for it since I'm a non-US resident. (It IS possible, but very expensive and lots of paperwork so it's a nono)

I was thinking of towing it behind my rental, but these don't come with a hitch. Actually they don't even allow it (I called).

I've looked into renting a truck with trailer to transport it to Jacksonville, but that's very very expensive.

I was hoping for a good soul willing to help me out. I can rent a tow dolly but I have no towing car. Anybody want to help me out? I'd cover all your expenses & food etc ...
The miata is in Ft. Lauderdale and needs to get to Jacksonville somewhere between feb 26 and march 1st. I'm flying back on march 2nd...

Frank Devocht

#205175 - 17/02/2004 11:12 Re: need help transporting a miata in Florida [Re: f_devocht]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
Renting a small Uhaul truck with tow dolly for a couple hours should not be too expensive.

I've also used Budget in the past. I don't know if they rent tow dollys thouhgh.

#205176 - 17/02/2004 17:49 Re: need help transporting a miata in Florida [Re: f_devocht]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
Problem is that the car is not registered and I cannot get a temp tag for it

How much of a risk taker are you?