Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#224631 - 29/07/2006 00:10 Re: backup HD [Re: mduran]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
In reply to:

That would work, assuming that the boot process doesn't choke when it doesn't detect a cdrom on boot.



Could anybody please confirm / deny this ? I like this solution.



Seems to choke on the boot process if there is no CDROM and the second hard disk is slave.

Anyone have a workaround?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224632 - 29/07/2006 00:20 Re: backup HD [Re: geeknerd]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
If anyone wants to give this method a shot, you should know the following commands:

mkdir /mnt/hdb
mount -t ext2 /dev/hdb /mnt/hdb
cp -r /drive0 /mnt/hdb


Using the serial debug dongle (I couldn't get to a shell from the USB keyboard with two hard disks installed), I tried these commands. Here is what I got:

Code:
jupiter:/# mkdir /mnt/hdb
mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/hdb': Read-only file system
jupiter:/# rw
EXT2-fs warning: checktime reached, running e2fsck is recommended
jupiter:/# mkdir /mnt/hdb
jupiter:/# mount -t ext2 /dev/hdb /mnt/hdb
VFS: Can't find ext2 filesystem on dev ide0(3,64).
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdb,
or too many mounted file systems



That's as far as I got. Anyone? HELP!

(Note: The slave drive has already been formatted as a Rio Central drive already, using the "Restore to as new" CD for version 1.10.)
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224633 - 29/07/2006 00:29 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Trying to put it back the way it was, I did rmdir /mnt/hdb, which worked, but now it won't go back into read only mode:

Code:
jupiter:/empeg/bin# ro
mount: can't find / in /etc/fstab or /etc/mtab

_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224634 - 29/07/2006 01:38 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Hm. Well, in the absence of a on-the-central solution, I think I'll just mount both drives on the Windows PC with fs-driver and copy the files there.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224635 - 29/07/2006 01:56 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Hm. That software recognizes that there are two drives present that contain linux partitions, but it tells me they are not formatted, and when I select the drives in Explorer, it asks me if I want to format them.

Even though they both can boot a Central.

Is it that they're the wrong file system type for that driver to use? What file system does the Central use?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224636 - 29/07/2006 01:59 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Yup, that's it. Central drives are ReiserFS.

/me looks for software that will let my windows PC read and write ReiserFS...
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224637 - 29/07/2006 02:10 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Hm. Appears as though such an animal does not exist.

Carp.

...little help?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224638 - 29/07/2006 02:26 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Keep in mind that the only reason I'm thinking the Central drives are Reiser is because the mountdiag tool from here tells me they are. Are they?

Anyone?

<insert sound of crickets chirping here>
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224639 - 29/07/2006 02:34 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
The Central Guy
enthusiast

Registered: 18/03/2002
Posts: 225
Loc: San Diego, California USA
Hi Tony,
I've had luck using Ghost software to duplicate a smaller hard drive over to a larger hard drive. In fact, Ghost even uses up the additional disk space by making the largest partition "take up the slack", which is what you want.

I have a special older PC with Ghost installed and removable hard drive bays. I come along with a couple of drives to copy and just plug them in and "Ghost" one to the other....

I don't know of any way to accomplish what you're trying to do....I hope that helps....

If you can't figure out a work-around, I'd be happy to do the duplication on my setup and ship the drives back to you....

Randy
_________________________
Happy owner of 2 Centrals, 2 Empegs Mk2a 160GB, 1 Empeg Mk2a 60 GB, a Rio Riot, 4 Rio Receivers, and two 1GB iPod Shuffles...

Top
#224640 - 29/07/2006 02:50 Re: backup HD [Re: The Central Guy]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
If only I owned Ghost.

Incidentally, I get the same error when trying to mount /dev/hdb as reiserfs. It's almost like the central doesn't even support the mount command.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224641 - 29/07/2006 02:58 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
A little help on instant messenger from Mike Schrag and we've determined the following, based on messing with the thing and finding comments from Roger and others here on the BBS:

- The large music partitions on the Central are indeed ReiserFS.

- /etc/fstab is not used by the central.

- The central doesn't even seem to use the mount command at all. When you type mount by itself, it's supposed to enumerate everything that's mounted. On the central, that's nothing at all, it's blank.

I have another avenue of research. If that pans out, I'll get back here and post the results.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224642 - 29/07/2006 04:35 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
I have given up and I'm doing an all-night synch with Jemplode and the Ethernet adapter.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224643 - 01/08/2006 06:59 Re: backup HD [Re: tfabris]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5515
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
trying to mount /dev/hdb as reiserfs


You can't mount /dev/hdb as reiserfs because /dev/hdb is the entire disk. You need to mount one of the partitions (/dev/hdb1, /dev/hdb2, etc.) as reiserfs. I don't know which one, though. Do an fdisk -l /dev/hdb (that's a lower-case L) to find out what partitions are on the disk.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#224644 - 01/08/2006 22:40 Re: backup HD [Re: Roger]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30533
Loc: Seattle, WA
Of course! How stupid of me to not realize that.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2