Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#224717 - 26/03/2004 23:53 riorid on riocentral?
brendanhoar
enthusiast

Registered: 09/06/2003
Posts: 297
I noticed the rmml/jemplode "accessory" program, riorid.jar can be used on the empeg as well as the karma. Useful for the times when using jemplode to copy playlists around to prevent duplicate fids.

Anyone know if riorid's 'empeg' option be used to create rid files for the riocentral as well? I'm sort of loathe to try it and corrupt my riocentral's disk...

-brendan

Top
#224718 - 27/03/2004 10:17 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: brendanhoar]
Micman2b
addict

Registered: 27/12/2001
Posts: 441
Loc: Central, NC, USA
I have used it successfully in the past to add RID's on the central...

Sean
_________________________
_____________
Sean in NC
130gb MK2a w/ 32mb ram
80gb MK2a empeg spare

Top
#224719 - 27/03/2004 10:42 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: Micman2b]
brendanhoar
enthusiast

Registered: 09/06/2003
Posts: 297
Thanks - I've read that the riocentral's disk organization is very similar to the empeg, and assumed it would work, just needed the verification.

-brendan

Top
#224720 - 28/03/2004 03:57 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: brendanhoar]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30639
Loc: Seattle, WA
Actually, there's a significant difference between the way RioRid works on the Central than on the Empeg. But it's smart enough to know the difference and it Does The Right Thing when it detects it's talking to a Central.

The difference is...

On the Empeg, and on the Karma, the RID is an additional "RID" tag all its own, stored in the FID file that contains the database information.

The Central, for some reason, can't add custom independent tags the way the Empeg/Karma can. If you send the commands to the Central to add a custom tag, it won't stay. So you can only update existing tags. So what Mike does on the Central is he stores the RID in the existing "Comment" field. And then when it comes time to backup/restore playlists with Riobackup.jar, or when it comes time to copy/paste playlists in Jemplode, he checks both fields for the RID.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224721 - 29/03/2004 03:12 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: tfabris]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5528
Loc: London, UK
The Central, for some reason, can't add custom independent tags the way the Empeg/Karma can.

This is because the Central uses a different database format that doesn't allow adding fields after the fact. It could have been made to allow this, but at the time we were writing the software, hackability on the Central was low down the list.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#224722 - 05/05/2004 18:18 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: Roger]
geeknerd
member

Registered: 24/09/2003
Posts: 148
Interesting. I just downloaded Jemplode, and it's pretty nice. The major features seem to work, but there were a few issues. Is the source code available anywhere?

Top
#224723 - 06/05/2004 11:06 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: geeknerd]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30639
Loc: Seattle, WA
Where did you get Jemplode from? If you got it from the correct place at www.jempeg.org, there is a link to the source right there.

Regarding "a few issues", what were those issues? And were you using the latest version of Jemplode (54)?

If you've got issues with Jemplode and the Central, please start a new thread on the subject and we can discuss it.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224724 - 06/05/2004 18:52 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: tfabris]
geeknerd
member

Registered: 24/09/2003
Posts: 148
The link is there... but try clicking on it... No love!

Are you the maintainer of jemplode?

The most apparent defect is adding multiple songs to the current playlist. If you add 10 songs (hit any of the play, insert, or after buttons) it adds one song, plays 2 seconds, the screen blanks, adds the next song, plays 2 seconds, the screen blanks, etc.

There were a few things that caused it to hang, and I had to reboot the central to get it to connect again.

I'm using the latest version.

Overall, I was very impressed with jemplode. I was quite pleased with the download feature, and it seems to handle threading quite well.
___________________
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /jemplode-src.zip on this server.

Apache/1.3.29 Server at jempeg.cs.caltech.edu Port 80

Top
#224725 - 07/05/2004 10:50 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: geeknerd]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30639
Loc: Seattle, WA
I'm not the author of Jemplode, but I can pass this information along to him. He frequents the empeg BBS but I'm not sure if he comes here very often.

(Soon enough, this BBS will be merged with the empeg BBS so that will be a moot point...)

The play/insert buttons were originally only meant for the empeg car player, so I'm not surprised that the Central chokes on those commands.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224726 - 13/05/2004 14:54 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: geeknerd]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30639
Loc: Seattle, WA
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /jemplode-src.zip on this server.
Apache/1.3.29 Server at jempeg.cs.caltech.edu Port 80


Ah, Okay, Mike says he's fixed this now. You can grab the sources now.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224727 - 26/10/2006 21:20 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: tfabris]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 13528
Loc: Canada
Quote:
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /jemplode-src.zip on this server.
Apache/1.3.29 Server at jempeg.cs.caltech.edu Port 80


Ah, Okay, Mike says he's fixed this now. You can grab the sources now.


jemplode-src.zip: Not Found.

Top
#224728 - 26/10/2006 23:17 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: mlord]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30639
Loc: Seattle, WA
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#224729 - 05/12/2006 03:20 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: mlord]
geeknerd
member

Registered: 24/09/2003
Posts: 148
Did you get the code to jemplode? If you want, I'm pretty sure I have a copy on a HDD around here somewhere. Just let me know and I'll go find it.

Top
#224730 - 17/02/2007 01:02 Re: riorid on riocentral? [Re: geeknerd]
peakmop
journeyman

Registered: 02/07/2004
Posts: 95
Loc: 384400 km from the Moon
If you find the source, please send it me, I'm trying to get jemplode working with RXTX on linux.
Thanks!

Top