Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#248362 - 03/02/2005 06:58 tRio and UPnP
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
A quick note on progress towards building UPnP support into tRio.

I've been working on it steadily for the past few weeks and have it pretty much working with the free TwonkyVision music server (see http://www.twonkyvision.de/UPnP/MusicServer.html ). Still some rough edges to smooth off though.

Before I go "public", I want to get it working with Windows Media Connect (see http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/devices/wmconnect/default.aspx ). But, alas, I can't get it to play ball as yet (see https://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1220775&forum_id=258158 for details). Please let me know if you have any ideas/suggestions.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248363 - 03/02/2005 08:09 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
ChrisL
stranger

Registered: 27/12/2002
Posts: 12
A very interesting devlopment - Along with the xplrio net project we might have three or more servers to choose from soon.

A couple of questions - are there any uPnp servers that support flac and/or can the trio be made to playback WMA lossless?

Keep up the great work Paul - I tried the light front end on my friends wifi Ipaq and it's awesome. The only problem is, now he wants it back!


Edited by ChrisL (03/02/2005 08:10)

Top
#248364 - 04/02/2005 22:05 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: ChrisL]
florca
stranger

Registered: 16/04/2002
Posts: 15
Paul - Will your tRio / Riot UPnP implementation allow the Rio Receiver to operate "standalone" with the Twonky server?

A major possibility of the UPnP solution is that it would allow the RR to work without an active PC-based server - it could run from an NSLU2 or Buffalo Linkstation using the Twonky software + a port of RioBoot.

Although the tRio architecture is fantastic where an active Windows PC is always on (and is the software I use today), my understanding of the way it works has all of the screen / state handling provided by the tRio server PC - which I guess rules out the sort of configuration I have in mind?

Brgds
Phil

Top
#248365 - 05/02/2005 07:36 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: florca]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Phil,

Nope, I'm afraid the tRio software is very much PC dependant. My UPnP implementation runs on the PC side - the receivers are none the wiser as to whether the music is coming from jrec, arm or upnp.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248366 - 05/02/2005 09:06 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
ChrisL
stranger

Registered: 27/12/2002
Posts: 12
Paul - any idea's on the flac via uPnP or native WMA lossless question above?

Cheers in advance

Chris


Edited by ChrisL (05/02/2005 09:07)

Top
#248367 - 05/02/2005 09:33 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: ChrisL]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Chris,

tRio supports flac, but twonkyvision doesn't (as yet). And with wma its the other way round. I can't speak for the twonkyvision on the flac issue, but I don't see a burning need for wma in tRio (I am not a ms fan).

But there are some transcoding UPnP servers out there that might acheive the effect you're after.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248368 - 01/04/2005 14:38 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
Bane
stranger

Registered: 23/06/2003
Posts: 23
Can you suggest a UPnP server that will serve flac? I have been unable to find one.

Top
#248369 - 01/04/2005 19:57 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: Bane]
time
enthusiast

Registered: 20/11/2000
Posts: 276
Loc: Pacific Northwest
You can serve FLAC files up through xPLRioNet, but I believe it is done through on-the-fly transcoding.

As far as UPnP, something very akin to that is being worked out for xPL even now.

Top
#248370 - 01/04/2005 21:11 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: time]
florca
stranger

Registered: 16/04/2002
Posts: 15
The server software for the Zensonic Z500 claims to be "UPnP enabled" and the device itself will support FLAC (and a bunch of other formats) if and when it arrives. Whether the server software will be:
a) freely downloadable
b) usable as a generic UPnP Server
remains to be seen.....

Top
#248371 - 26/05/2005 05:59 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Well it's been a while, but I think the upnp support is almost there now. I couldn't get it to work it Windows Media Connect, but TwonkyVision and MusicMatch are working quite happily now.

I've also built a PortMapper and NFS server into tRio (ala RioBoot) so that we can truely break away from ARM (many folks use ARM for this on Windows - even if they're running jrec). So all that's missing now is DHCP, but I'd imagine that most folks run their own anyway.

I've had to make some fairly major changes under-the-hood for this and it'll need a fair amount of testing. I imagine I'll be ready to start sending out alpha versions towards the end of next week. If you're keen PM me with your email address and I'll send it to you.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248372 - 31/05/2005 20:19 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
guterm
stranger

Registered: 07/04/2004
Posts: 7
Paul,
Would it still work under linux, which has built-in nfs support?

Top
#248373 - 02/06/2005 14:42 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: guterm]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
You'll be able to switch the tRio nfs support off or on in trio.xml. For linux I'd imagine you'd switch it off and use the linux implementation instead.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248374 - 06/06/2005 17:34 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
Jerz
addict

Registered: 13/07/2002
Posts: 633
Loc: Jesusland
It's the bomb!

Top
#248375 - 10/06/2005 23:03 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
possingk
stranger

Registered: 04/08/2003
Posts: 25
Loc: PA
If you would like a hand testing this in linux let me know. I am running SuSE pro 9.1 and have six rio's currently up and running with JREC and TRIO 1.6. I would love to help if needed.

Top
#248376 - 13/06/2005 02:00 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: possingk]
bha
stranger

Registered: 12/04/2001
Posts: 29
I'm running Debian, jReceiver 0.2.5, Trio 0.1.6, 4 Rios, and would be glad to help.

Top
#248377 - 13/06/2005 10:21 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: possingk]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
Jerz has reported a few problems that I'd like to fix before sending out any more test versions. The one's really got me puzzled though (it's not showing the full list of Albums/Artists under qnp mode), so I'm afraid that it might be a few days yet.

In the mean time, PM me with your email addresses and I'll send you the files when I'm ready.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248378 - 18/06/2005 06:46 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
pauln
enthusiast

Registered: 03/12/2001
Posts: 332
Loc: UK
I've just sent out the latest 0.1.7 version to all of you who've volunteered for testing (via email). Please let me know if I've missed you.

Cheers
Paul

Top
#248379 - 02/09/2005 10:13 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
dforsythnet
stranger

Registered: 02/04/2002
Posts: 10
How is the uPnP version going, need more testers?

Dwayne

Top
#248380 - 25/11/2005 01:21 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
batkiwi
stranger

Registered: 04/09/2002
Posts: 3
Does anyone have this to distribute? I haven't seen pauln on here or the sourceforge site in a LONG time now... I'd like to use 1.7 as is.

Does anyone know if CVS has the latest, or has heard from pauln?

Top
#248381 - 26/11/2005 01:34 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: batkiwi]
bha
stranger

Registered: 12/04/2001
Posts: 29
1.7 still seems to be on Sourceforge, but it is hidden from view. I'm not sure why Paul never exposed it. I have been using it since June. It works well for me. I have spent some time with the free twonky UPNP musicserver. It's OK, but there is still more that needs to be done.

Top
#248382 - 28/11/2005 20:04 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: bha]
drule
stranger

Registered: 16/05/2002
Posts: 13
I'm sure Paul has a good reason for not announcing the release of 1.7 yet but curiosity has the better of me and I have to ask, how do you access hidden releases on sourceforge?

:-)

Top
#248383 - 02/05/2006 13:56 UPnP version available? [Re: pauln]
mdknapp2
new poster

Registered: 02/05/2006
Posts: 2
Hi Paul.. Are you around? Just wondering if the UPnP version is almost ready to be released. I used to love trio but I stopped using it when UPnP came along. I'm currently using Allegro Media Server on a Mac with an Omnifi to play tunes.. would be great to have the Rios working again. I managed to get a copy of 0.1.7 off of sourceforge but it complains about not being able to find receiver.arf regardless of where I put it.. but I assume this is because it is unreleased.

Thanks
Mike

Top
#248384 - 03/05/2006 01:14 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: mdknapp2]
bha
stranger

Registered: 12/04/2001
Posts: 29
I ran 0.1.7 for some time using the Twonky upnp server. The receiver.arf is included in the tRio 0.1.7.zip file, you should find it in the main directory when you unzip the archive. You need to untar the receiver.arf file into your TFTP directories (by IP number) so the Rio DAR can load the 0.1.7 client software.

Top
#248385 - 03/05/2006 07:04 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: bha]
vince
stranger

Registered: 23/12/2001
Posts: 67
Loc: UK
Can anyone send me 1.7 as the download does not work for me.

Thanks
_________________________
Vince, UK RioCar 20GB + 20GB, tuner & stalk, 5 x Audio Receivers

Top
#248386 - 04/05/2006 13:09 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: bha]
mdknapp2
new poster

Registered: 02/05/2006
Posts: 2
It seems like trio is looking for the .arf for some reason.. Did paul add a built in tftp server in 1.7? I get this from the logs:

SEVERE: Start up error.
trio.TRioStartupException: Error loading configuration
at trio.TRioServer.loadConfiguration(TRioServer.java:280)
at trio.TRioServer.<init>(TRioServer.java:159)
at trio.TRioServer.main(TRioServer.java:715)
Caused by: trio.TRioDisplayableException: FileNotFoundException reading boot arc
hive
at trio.boot.TRioBootServer.expandBootImage(TRioBootServer.java:90)
at trio.boot.TRioBootServer.<init>(TRioBootServer.java:76)
at trio.TRioServer.initBoot(TRioServer.java:311)
at trio.TRioServer.loadConfiguration(TRioServer.java:272)
... 2 more
Caused by: java.io.FileNotFoundException: receiver.arf (No such file or director
y)


Anyway.. I don't get why trio is even looking for the .arf.. Any ideas? Or maybe I got a different version? All I did was change the download link URL from xxxxx0.1.6 to 1.7.

-Mike

Top
#248387 - 09/05/2006 02:05 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: mdknapp2]
bha
stranger

Registered: 12/04/2001
Posts: 29
I am no longer running 0.1.7, and I didn't have any problem with it, but see if this helps...

1) You should have receiver.arf in the main directory after you unzip the tRio-0.1.7.zip file.

2) You may be correct, I see stuff in the source (also included in this zip) that looks like a java NFS server and SSDP server, so it's possible this was built-in, or at least work was started. But I don't know if it is working or not. In my case I still un-tar'd the reciever.arf into a NFS exported tftp folder with the IP of the Rio DAR. Look in the trio.xml file to see if Server url is "ssdp". How were you booting / getting SSDP before trying 0.1.7?

3) You can tell which client the Rio DAR is running from the boot splash screen. You may need to hard reboot the Rio DAR to get it to reload the client software.

Top
#248388 - 24/05/2006 14:25 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: mdknapp2]
darochdad
new poster

Registered: 22/05/2006
Posts: 3
I got the same message, and after a little tinkering, found that Trio was (for some inexplicable reason) expecting receiver.arf to exist in the directory where you started the server...ie, if you started it from foo/trio/bin, then receiver.arf should be in foo/trio.bin. I started it in /usr/local/trio/bin, but receiver.arf was in /usr/local/trio. I copied it over and everything worked fine.

I'm currently looking into how to change this. First I have to figure out Trio's build system (looks like he uses ant) and then I'll look at hacking the code ;-)

Top
#248389 - 24/05/2006 23:59 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: darochdad]
meshferg
new poster

Registered: 03/05/2006
Posts: 2
I've successfully gotten 0.1.6 completely managed inside Eclipse. I can actually run it inside the IDE, use the debugging tools, compile the RMI classes, hit the web server and load the applet, etc. This IDE is great for doing rapid programming. Also, have gotten ant to build and export it to my server. I've started studying the code to understand it.

I have visions of getting trio to work with java 1.5 and Ampache, but this is really back-burner project for me. Also, I am far from a professional java coder. If there is interest and someone could email me the complete 0.1.7 code, receiver.arf, etc., I could try to get it all running in Eclipse. I could then export the project to them, or start a new CVS on sourceforge. I had mixed success pulling 0.1.7 source down from CVS.
/s/ Martin

Top
#248390 - 25/05/2006 02:30 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: meshferg]
darochdad
new poster

Registered: 22/05/2006
Posts: 3
I got the code to compile under Ant, but I haven't played with Eclipse yet (I'm a professional -C- programmer, so...)

anyway, 1.7 is available at:
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/triot/tRio-0.1.7.zip?download
The complete source is in the zip, and as of this afternoon I managed to get it to compile under Ant with the 1.5.0_6 jsdk I downloaded from sun this morning. This is more of an achievement for me, having never used ant before, than anything else...I have changed nothing yet except to create a keystore so I could sign the code ;-)

Any help would be appreciated! For cost/value, I have found nothing that compares to the Rio Receiver, especially since tinkering with it is so easy and so much fun ;-)

Thanks for your help!

Top
#248391 - 25/05/2006 17:05 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: darochdad]
meshferg
new poster

Registered: 03/05/2006
Posts: 2
How did you get the class TRioConfiguration.java to compile? It uses org.apache.crimson.tree.TextNode, which is in the java 1.4 rt.jar. But it's not in the java 1.5 rt.jar. I think the whole XML parsing system was redone for 1.5.

Top
#248392 - 25/05/2006 20:35 Re: UPnP version available? [Re: meshferg]
darochdad
new poster

Registered: 22/05/2006
Posts: 3
I left the xercesImpl.jar in the lib directory and added it to the CLASSPATH. I don't see where that's a generated (actually, the build.xml only generates trio-applet and trio, so I left the rest as dependencies for the above).

Why? Is there a better way?

Top
#248393 - 29/06/2006 14:05 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
YNaught
new poster

Registered: 28/01/2006
Posts: 13
The TwonkyVision website (quoted in first message in this thread) suggests that the download is a "trial" and will "terminate after 30 minutes".
Have they changed their licensing since that first post, or is it not really a trial?

Top
#248394 - 16/08/2006 00:26 Re: UPnP - I broke it again. [Re: meshferg]
dforsythnet
stranger

Registered: 02/04/2002
Posts: 10
I had tRio 0.1.7 up and running for a few months. Did a FC5 upgrade, and broke it again.

Still running java 1.4.2_07

every thing looks ok in the logs, but the boxes are not pull down thier firmware, It's not getting past the ssdb broadcast. I can see the dhcp in ethereal, and the box looking for ssdb.

when I turn up the debug level on the logs, I see a bunch of " (no security manager: codebase disabled)" which do not sound healthy. Any thoughs to what to check or look for?

I put a copy of the log file at:
http://www.dforsyth.net/forsyth/trio-0.log

Dwayne

Top
#248395 - 21/05/2007 05:31 Re: tRio and UPnP [Re: pauln]
Dobbin
new poster

Registered: 30/08/2000
Posts: 35
I know this is a bit of dead thread, but does anybody know what the current situation is ? Any news from Paul ?
It would be great to see this up and running again.

Dobbs

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >