Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#256185 - 14/05/2005 12:29 Garmin GPS V vs.
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Loc: Detroit, MI USA
Maybe you guys can help guide me toward a GPSr based on your experiences? I mainly started looking into one after reading about fellow empeger's geocaching thrills and Mark Lord's web tool that lets you do some way point stuff via your cell phone's web browser. The PDA solutions are WAY cool, but I have had two Palm pilots and I never use them except to control the empeg. I'm a builder and neat gadgets like that don't survive. I've had to settle for syncing Outlook to a beatup cell phone.

I think I'll additionally get use out of it for driving. I go on a few "Fun Drives" through twisty back roads where the route is a secret. They are about 120 miles long and I think it'd be fun to come home and view on a computer what route we did and maybe average speeds for each leg?

I don't need a unit built for extreme conditions as I don't be moutain climbing with it. Maybe hiking and exploring - but my wife will hopefully be coming along and the extreme stuff isn't "her thing". And to be honest, I'd probably hurt myself anyway!

I thought the unit would be fun for road trips too. No plans to hook it upto my empeg. The car that houses my empeg isn't driven enough to make that task worthwhile.

Here are the two I'm looking at (other recommendations are welcome):

GPS V Deluxe
  • 19MB of memory (which sounded like a lot to me, but one reviewer said that loading New York, New Jersey, Long Island and Jersey City filled up over 18 mb).
  • The "Deluxe" now means you get a fully unlocked set of maps for City Select.
  • Included base map of N.A.
  • Serial connector.
  • No slot for memory cards (after reading how 19MB may not be enough, this one bummed me out a bit).
  • Good battery life (over 24 hours).
  • Neat stuff like Speed and ETA displays.