Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#306321 - 18/01/2008 23:51 AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing...
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manteca, California
It's a kid problem. Said kid has no restraint where the use of the printer is concerned.

I wanted to restrict her account to prohibit the use of all printers, yet it seems that MS doesn't make this possible.

This happens to be on a Vista Home Premium machine.

#306323 - 19/01/2008 00:01 Re: AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing.. [Re: gbeer]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Under Windows XP Pro, I have a "Security" tab on the printer Properties page. It might not be available under Home versions. If it is, I bet you might have to change how users log in. I have very little Vista experience, but a lot of things go away in XP if you enable the Welcome screen.

#306326 - 19/01/2008 00:22 Re: AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing.. [Re: wfaulk]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

The Security tab. Would it be there only for local printers?

#306328 - 19/01/2008 00:54 Re: AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing.. [Re: gbeer]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Nope. It's there on remote printers. It's actually not there for the locally connected printer I have. Weird.

#306329 - 19/01/2008 01:51 Re: AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing.. [Re: wfaulk]
pca
old hand

Loc: UK
Could you set up a machine profile for that account that has all the printer drivers removed?

pca

#306330 - 19/01/2008 02:02 Re: AFIK Windows doesn't have a way to prohibit a user from printing.. [Re: gbeer]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
There's always low tech... lock up the printer cable (or its ink cartridges or its toner cartridge).