Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#57177 - 24/01/2002 19:43 Re: empegVNC [Re: Yang]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Ummm, WinVNC is what the AT&T guys distribute. Specifically, I'm using v3.3.3r2.

And, to be clear, you're saying that the scaling doesn't work, not the whole connection, right? If it's just the scaling, then there's nothing I can really do about it at this point. There's no function on the server side to enable that sort of scaling of which I'm aware. The client should just display it differently. Does your client successfully scale another server? Doing server-side scaling is going to require some serious overhauling of the server (at least to do it without generating insane amounts of network traffic -- and it uses too much as is).
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#57178 - 24/01/2002 19:53 Re: empegVNC [Re: wfaulk]
Yang
addict

Registered: 14/01/2002
Posts: 443
Loc: Raleigh, NC
Well, unless this client takes configuration differently from other programs. I enabled scaling, and put in 2 by 2. I then connect to the empeg and it's the normal size.

I tried TightVNC 1.2.2 and WinVNC 3.3.3r3..

Top
#57179 - 24/01/2002 19:57 Re: empegVNC [Re: Yang]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 27/06/1999
Posts: 7058
Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Yeah, the AT&T client says scaling is experimental, and I believe it doesn't keep the scaling settings...
_________________________
- Tony C
my empeg stuff

Top
#57180 - 24/01/2002 20:00 Re: empegVNC [Re: Yang]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Oh, I see what you're doing. I grabbed a copy of TightVNC. Seems that its UI is nearly identical to WinVNC, which I assumed when I saw your numbers there. The two numbers in the UI are not the x and y scaling, they are intended as a ratio of display size to original size. When you enter 2 and 2, that's the ratio of 2:2, which is the same as 1:1. Try entering 2:1. It'll work. (Make sure you enable the scaling checkbox.)
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#57181 - 24/01/2002 20:07 Re: empegVNC [Re: wfaulk]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14481
Loc: Canada
I'll look at the mmap() stuff -- somebody else has been nagging me for it anyway, and it should be the fastest operational method for this. But in the meanwhile, have a go at using /proc/empeg_screen.raw instead, which has lower system loading (but it may "sleep" your read() process briefly while it does a screen grab). Let me know how it works (or not) -- Hijack v145, in about 20 minutes or so.

As for feeding button codes, do it this way (shell script example):
#!/bin/sh

if [ -e /proc/empeg_notify ]; then
echo "BUTTON xxxxxxx" >/proc/empeg_notify
else
## use ioctls() as at present for the hijack-deprived
fi

But that limits things a little, n'est-ce pas? Well, not really, cuz you can also do LONG presses with:
	echo "BUTTON xxxxxxx.L" >/proc/empeg_notify

But that also limits things, so here is how EmpegVNC ought to do it:
	echo "BUTTONRAW 0xxxxxxx" >/proc/empeg_notify

## wait until user lets go of the button/icon, then do:
echo "BUTTONRAW 8xxxxxxx" >/proc/empeg_notify

The last method above allows/requires separate press/release codes for each button (except for knob rotations, which don't have release codes). A list of most/all button codes is in hijack.h in the patchfile.

Cheers



Top
#57182 - 24/01/2002 20:10 Re: empegVNC [Re: wfaulk]
Yang
addict

Registered: 14/01/2002
Posts: 443
Loc: Raleigh, NC
Doh... no wonder, I never did good in those achievement tests... 1/1 is of corse the same thing as 2/2... I guess I was thinking of the way that scaling is done in graphics programs.. Works like a charm..

Top
#57183 - 24/01/2002 20:18 Re: empegVNC [Re: mlord]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 27/06/1999
Posts: 7058
Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Haha who's been nagging you for the mmap buffer?
_________________________
- Tony C
my empeg stuff

Top
#57184 - 25/01/2002 17:27 Re: empegVNC [Re: Yang]
bonzi
pooh-bah

Registered: 13/09/1999
Posts: 2401
Loc: Croatia
I did the same thing. You put it to 2/2, which is 1. Put it to 2/1 and see what happens.

Memo to myself: DO read the whole thread before responding!


Edited by bonzi (25/01/2002 17:28)
_________________________
Dragi "Bonzi" Raos Q#5196 MkII #080000376, 18GB green MkIIa #040103247, 60GB blue

Top
#57185 - 31/01/2002 16:24 Re: empegVNC [Re: mlord]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Okay, in hijack.h, the RELEASED codes are different than the PRESSED codes. Even so, when I send the code to empeg_notify, I have to OR the RELEASED codes with 0x80000000? That's odd. Why?

Edit: It actually looks like that's wrong. I just tried it with the 8xxxxxxx and weird things happen. I think that it's not seeing the RELEASED code, but it's hard to see.


Edited by wfaulk (31/01/2002 17:02)
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#57186 - 31/01/2002 18:57 Re: empegVNC [Re: wfaulk]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14481
Loc: Canada
I'll have a look at it, and make sure it works in v161.

I'm assuming you are using RAWBUTTON for this.

Cheers

Top
#57187 - 31/01/2002 19:10 Re: empegVNC [Re: wfaulk]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14481
Loc: Canada
Nope.. seems to work fine.

But I did find/fix one bug, that was preventing multiple button codes per line.. it was only taking the first one.

So, with v160, you can do:

echo "BUTTONRAW 0020df12" >/proc/empeg_notify
echo "BUTTONRAW 8020df12" >/proc/empeg_notify

and with v161 (not out yet) you can instead do:

echo "BUTTONRAW 0020df12;BUTTONRAW 8020df12" >/proc/empeg_notify


I will also add a config.ini flag in v161 to turn on ir_debug:

[hijack]
ir_debug=1

This will spew raw IR codes to the serial port, along with some internal state flags and such. You can ignore most everything except the first 8-digit value on each line (the raw press/release codes). This debug data comes straight from the Hijack IR handler.

-ml


Top
#57188 - 31/01/2002 19:22 Re: empegVNC [Re: mlord]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Oh. I see. I was just using the codes for the front panel button codes, which are not in the same ``| 0x80000000'' style as the remote codes -- I didn't even scroll down far enough to notice that, not that the remote codes even occurred to me. Sorry. Brain not working too well tonight.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2