Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#52794 - 31/12/2001 08:20 Help with Install
joe187
journeyman

Loc: Massachusetts
Hi,

I'm new to this BBS and to the Empeg world. I just ordered a 30 gig unit and hope to have it soon. My question is where to install it, and if I can route my existing head preamp out through the Empeg.

I have a 99 F-150. It only has one DIN slot, and my existing head is in there. I'd like to keep the head - due to the lack of tuner availability I need the radio functionality. So the question is where do I put the thing? Is there a 3rd party mount for elsewhere in the truck? Any ideas? Also, because I'd like to keep the head, can I connect the head through the Empeg and then out to a power amp? Is this a silly question? I'm not all that audio proficient so I'd appreciate a dumbed down answer. Thanks.

Joe

#52795 - 31/12/2001 09:50 Re: Help with Install [Re: joe187]
hybrid8
carpal tunnel

Loc: Toronto, CANADA
Here's the simplest answer: YES. :)

And really, it's that simple. You can actually go old-HU to empeg or empeg to old-HU. In the first case you need pre-outs on the HU and in the second case you need AUX-in on the HU.

If you are going to do HU to empeg, then I suggest mounting the empeg in your dash and hide the old head unit - or mount it in an alternate location. The more important display will be the empeg, so you don't want it hidden. People have all sorts of creative ways of mounting additional heads, so I'm sure you'll get some feedback with specifics. Your local car audio shop would more than likely also have some ideas.

Bruno

#52796 - 31/12/2001 11:00 Re: Help with Install [Re: hybrid8]
nester
new poster

Loc: Louisville, KY, USA
with the Stock HU, you're proabably not going to have RCA pre amp out's, so you'd have to get a line level converter..

Something like this..