Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#286123 - 28/08/2006 19:13 Long time without RioCar, bring me up to speed!!
GyroTech
new poster

Loc: Luton, UK
Hello everyone, I've been the proud owner of a RioCar now for going on 5 years but for the last 3 I have been a student and had to give up my car and, with it, my RioCar.
Now I have graduated and got a job, I'm back into vehicular transport and and going about refitting the wonderful RioCar.

Last time I used it, I think v2 final had just been released and I was having fun playing with all the new settings. A lot has changed since then, there seem to be v3 alphas in the long running but riocar.org seems to have stagnated.

I have tried going through these forums to figure out what is going on, but my kruft filter seems to be a little out of whack and I can't make heads or tails of anything. Would it be possible for someone to give me aquick run-down of the state of play for the RioCar at the moment?? Such as, how stable are these v3alpha builds, can I use my Ogg Vorbis files since I moved away from mp3 not so long ago?? Anything interesting at all would be greatly appriciated.

Looking forward to once again mbeing an active member of the community...

GT

#286124 - 28/08/2006 19:20 Re: Long time without RioCar, bring me up to speed!! [Re: GyroTech]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
Your OGG files will work, only on the V3 alphas, but the V3 alphas are unstable.

2.0 final is the best stable release. There is also Hijack, a very nifty kernel replacement that adds a bunch of great features, and Emphatic, an application that lets you customize the display, as well as letting you scroll song lyrics (only with a proper SYLT tag on an MP3 file).

#286125 - 29/08/2006 19:54 Re: Long time without RioCar, bring me up to speed!! [Re: tfabris]
GyroTech
new poster

Loc: Luton, UK