Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#306069 - 13/01/2008 01:41 Patent attorney sniffing around asking about playlists skipping files
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I got the following private message today:

Quote:
Hello Tony,

I am a patent attorney doing a prior art search relating to playlist functionality with unsupported file types and invalid files. Unfortunately, the empeg user manual I was able to find does not address this issue.

I was wondering if you or someone you know would be willing to discuss empeg's playlist functionality in versions released prior to September 2000. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I did find the following information posted by you in a google cache (empeg.merlins.org/archives/empeg-technical/2000-August/001324.html - 4k - Cached - Similar pages):

Empeg-technical] Re: For Idiots Like Me...
Tony Fabris [email protected]
Tue, 29 Aug 2000 08:05:00 GMT

<text deleted>

And sure you can say "but the player skips invalid files". Sure it does, but they'd still show up in searches and shuffles, generally getting in the way and being annoying. Empeg doesn't want Joe Consumer having to deal with that.

For what it's worth, you can still drag non-MP3 files into Emplode if you rename them to *.mp3 first. Since the file names get mangled within the player anyway, who cares what they're named at that point. So for the expert users, there's still a pretty simple way of uploading their non-music files if they really want.

I replied with the following message:

Quote:
This is something that should be discussed openly on the empeg forums. I am not a member of the development team for the product, I'm just one of the product's owners.