Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#89659 - 21/04/2002 22:09 Booting multiple OS's questions
GeorgeLSJr
enthusiast

Loc: Sayreville, New Jersey USA
I think the people on this board are perhaps the best ones to ask before I go and try this. I'm going to use some sort of boot manager to set up multiple operating systems. I was wondering if anyone had any insights, watchouts, suggestions on programs to use, etc.???

I'm currently looking at a program called Extended Operating System Loader (XOSL). It seems pretty robust, but as I've never done this before, I'm being very cautious.

My intent is to have DOS, Win98, Win2000, and Linux installed. I currently have a non-working version of Win98 "installed" , Win2000, and RedHat Linux. The only one I can't lose in this transition is the Win2000 install. My hardware consists of both SCSI & IDE hard drives and a SCSI CDR. I do have a single drive that's formatted with NTFS, but it has nothing but "extra" files (i.e. MP3's, movies, etc.... no programs installed on it). All other drives are either FAT16/32 or Linux. Everything else is pretty normal. I'm currently booting off one of the SCSI drives, but will most likely switch to IDE (see next sentence). While I've got your attention , am I going to run into any problems if I decide to upgrade to a motherboard with built-in RAID (assuming I want to boot off the RAID)?

*Any* insight would be very much appreciated.

Oh, and this all needs to be done in a matter of 4 hours? Just kidding!

Thanks!

#89660 - 21/04/2002 23:36 Re: Booting multiple OS's questions [Re: GeorgeLSJr]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
The boot loaders usually suggested for Linux are LILO and Grub. LILO is beginning to show its age a little, but I still use it. Grub is newer, but it's ... well ... newer.

Important documents to read are the Multiboot-with-GRUB and Multiboot-with-LILO mini-HOWTOs.