Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#219172 - 21/06/2004 07:09 ISP info needs translated
CrackersMcCheese
pooh-bah

Advice needed from those in the know!

There are plans here to run a wireless network from a college and provide an internet connection to 15 learning centres.

I have been sent information for me to select a broadband provider for the college but I have no experience of what I actually need.

1) Is there any advantage to static over dynamic IP addressing?

2) Number of IPs... What is the difference between having one or multiple

3) Do I need PAT and NAT?

4) What would be an ideal connection speed? I think the 1MB package would be insufficient.

Cheers guys for keeping me from looking incompetent!

Edited by PhilipOHare (21/06/2004 07:37)

#219173 - 21/06/2004 08:46 Re: ISP info needs translated [Re: CrackersMcCheese]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Is there any advantage to static over dynamic IP addressing?
Yes. If you're running servers from your site, you'll need (for all practical purposes) a static IP. Even if you're not, dynamic IPs can be a pain when dealing with long-term TCP sessions, like a telnet or ssh session, since if your IP address changes, you lose your session. How often it would change is an important point, too. It might change every five minutes or it might change once a week or less.
Number of IPs... What is the difference between having one or multiple
This has more to do with running servers from your site. If you want to have multiple servers accessible, it's easier, sorta, if you have multiple IP addresses, though it's not a requirement except in certain cases. Also, multiple IP addresses would make it easier to have a DMZ, which is a separate network that's more open to the internet than your regular network used for, usually, servers that need more unfettered access.
Do I need PAT and NAT?