Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#268130 - 26/10/2005 17:30 AIX Process Question
phi144
enthusiast

Loc: New Hampshire, USA
Does anyone know of a command to check what processes are running off what CPU? We have a 12 CPU system and the load balance seems to be way off. Certain CPU's are getting hammered while others are barely being used. I'm curious to see what processes are using what CPU. Can it even be done?

Thanks

#268131 - 26/10/2005 17:47 Re: AIX Process Question [Re: phi144]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I'm sure the answer lies somewhere in SMIT.

But that's a stock answer.

I'm not an AIX expert, but it seems to me that the way Unix timesharing works is that even if you have a single-threaded CPU-intensive process, it doesn't get parked on a single CPU, but will use whatever CPU becomes available. That means that it'll still use one-nth of the total CPU power in the machine, though, where "n" is the number of CPUs in the box.

If you're seeing particular CPUs overutilized, either AIX works very differently from other Unices (which is, of course, true in so many other cases) or there's something odd going on.

You might check out the "bindprocessor" command. It might lead you somewhere.

#268132 - 26/10/2005 17:56 Re: AIX Process Question [Re: wfaulk]
phi144
enthusiast