Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#362237 - 17/07/2014 01:56 OSX and Office
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA
I was hoping someone here might be able to help me.

I'm looking at a MacBook Pro for a client of mine as a favor to another client (they know I'm not very experienced with Macs). The problem they're having is that none of the Microsoft Office applications will launch. When I first turn the computer on and click on the Word icon in the dock, it'll bounce for a while (about 10 seconds) and then stop without anything happening. If I click on it again, it will bounce once and nothing happens. If I click on another application like Excel, it'll bounce a couple times and stop, and then every other time it'll bounce once then stop.

The MacBook is running 10.7.5 and Office 2008. I don't have the installation discs for Office.

There's not a lot of information on this type of problem, but I've tried several of the suggestions I've found.

- ran a disc repair by booting into the Disk Utility
- ran "repair disc permissions"
- removed relevant plist files to make the program recreate them
- I even went through validating the fonts

So far I've struck out. I just can't get the application to launch. Any suggestions?

#362238 - 17/07/2014 03:10 Re: OSX and Office [Re: Dignan]
drakino
carpal tunnel

Open up Console (It's in Applications/Utilities, or runnable via Spotlight).

In Console, go to All Messages in the upper left to show everything at once.

Then launch an Office app and look for relevant errors in the Console log output.

http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/mac_os_x_using_console_to_troubleshoot_problems/

This is a pretty standard way to get more info to aid in troubleshooting a number of Mac issues. Similar to looking in Event Viewer in Windows.