Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#143604 - 15/02/2003 12:47 making a search script for eggdrops in linux?
ilDuce
journeyman

I am a newbie to linux. But I am very willing to learn.
I had a question from a guy on how to write a script in linux that searches for eggdrops. I would like to give him a good answer. Some of the problem is that I for the moment dont have a linux machine. But I would appreciate some suggestions on how to learn how to write scripts, and how to search for eggdrops.

I guess its kinda hard to search for a already compiled binary. So, if I would guess, are there any user logs on commands. And if so, is it possible then to search these logs to see if the eggdrop binary have been compiled and executed?

#143605 - 15/02/2003 13:38 Re: making a search script for eggdrops in linux? [Re: ilDuce]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Sure. But anyone who's interested in keeping it a secret would just rename it to something innocuous. I'll admit that I don't know much about eggdrops (I was never much into IRC), but it seems to me that the correct way would be to see what the program's doing. It would have to attach to an IRC port, right? In that case, I'd use lsof to see what processes are using that port.

#143606 - 15/02/2003 17:02 Re: making a search script for eggdrops in linux? [Re: wfaulk]
ilDuce
journeyman

sure.... thats one way to do it.

Allthough.... as I think the intention was.... He wanted a script thats pretty simple. And searches just for an eggdrop script start.
Allthough, IŽll tell him about your idea. Didnt know i could list proccesses over ports... thanks!

#143607 - 16/02/2003 01:51 Re: making a search script for eggdrops in linux? [Re: ilDuce]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel