Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#283504 - 18/06/2006 23:53 Receipts
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA
First off, how many people here save receipts? So far I really haven't. The thought of keeping track of them all boggles my mind, they're annoying to store away somewhere, and actually finding them again would be a pain.

Second, what do you need receipts for these days? Keep in mind that I'm new to this world of personal finances. Is the IRS ever going to question me about those two CDs I bought at Best Buy the other day?

Lastly, if there's ever a reason I'd need a receipt, would I be legally safe if I only had a scanned copy? I'm thinking of getting a receipt scanner, or a normal flatbed scanner. If I got the latter, I'd probably want some good software for organizing these things. So does anyone here currently do this already and have a good system in place?

Thanks for the help.

#283505 - 19/06/2006 00:09 Re: Receipts [Re: Dignan]
webroach
old hand

Loc: Colorado
I've been keeping almost any document I get (receipts, business correspondence, account statements, etc.) stored as a high-resolution PDF for about three years now. The key isn't some sort of complicated software, but rather an intelligent filing system. I organize like so...

- Year
---Month
-----Accounts Received
-----Accounts Paid
-----Medical
-----Automotive
-----Grocery
-----Employment
-----Housing
-----Etc. (you get the basic idea)