Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#10679 - 04/07/2000 19:07 Ethernet protocol
Dredd
enthusiast

Loc: Bay Area, California
OK, we knew this was coming.

I have a Mac. I want to be able to talk to my Mk.II without using Virtual PC. I can do that using Ethernet, so long as I know WHAT I have to tell it.

Can we now (finally) get the specs on how to talk to the Empeg for retrieving the existing playlists (as emplode does) and then for uploading new files and playlists?

e.g., Now that "device drivers" are no longer an issue, I'd like to start working on a utility to talk to the Empeg the same way emplode does, but on a different platform. (not sure if it'll end up being my Mac, but who knows )

D

#10680 - 05/07/2000 00:31 Re: Ethernet protocol [Re: Dredd]
mcomb
pooh-bah

Loc: San Carlos, CA
I have been asking for the same thing on and off for the last six months without a very positive response. I run MacOS 9, MacOS X Server, Mac OS X Client, LinuxPPC, and could probably even come up with with Solaris or NeXTStep. But, I don't do windows and don't really do linux X86.

I have asked for a variety of things: open source emplode, version of emplode that runs on the Empeg and finds songs via NFS mount (possibly with a web interface), web interface to the empeg through which you upload directly. A command line version of emplode that ran on the empeg itself would open up a world of opportunities.

Come on guys, give us the specs to talk to the empeg so that someone can get something working that I can actually use by the time my number comes up for a MK2.

VPC is not a viable long term solution AFAIK. There are at least a few of us here that would be willing to write our own software to talk to the Empeg, but we need some info on how to do it.

Thanks,
Mike

#10681 - 05/07/2000 01:06 Re: Ethernet protocol [Re: mcomb]
Nils

Loc: Germany