Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#118357 - 29/09/2002 06:52 Power Adapter
smithj
new poster

Registered: 29/09/2002
Posts: 11
Loc: Berkshire, UK
Hi,

I need to get another power adapter for my unit!

Does anyone have any good ideas where I can get one and much it will cost?

I am in UK.

Cheers
Jason

_________________________
Rio Mk II 20 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb (pretending to be something else)

Top
#118358 - 29/09/2002 06:58 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
BartDG
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/05/2001
Posts: 2564
Loc: Bruges, Belgium
Contact support at [email protected]

I'm sure they can still sell you a Power adapter.
_________________________
Riocar 80gig S/N : 010101580 red
Riocar 80gig (010102106) - backup

Top
#118359 - 29/09/2002 07:43 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
mrfixit
enthusiast

Registered: 14/06/2002
Posts: 337
Or you can click here
_________________________
Ben
mk2a 60gig green/Greenlights Buttons
mk2a 60gig green/Greenlights Buttons
mk2a 40gig blue no illumination....yet
hijacked

Top
#118360 - 29/09/2002 07:46 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
maplins sell them for 25 quid, that's where I got mine from.

Adrian

Top
#118361 - 29/09/2002 09:16 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sn00p]
smithj
new poster

Registered: 29/09/2002
Posts: 11
Loc: Berkshire, UK
any idea how I find the adapter on maplins website, do you have a product code?

Thanks
Jason
_________________________
Rio Mk II 20 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb (pretending to be something else)

Top
#118362 - 29/09/2002 09:19 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
Maplin order code is PJ88V

Adrian

Top
#118363 - 29/09/2002 09:27 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sn00p]
smithj
new poster

Registered: 29/09/2002
Posts: 11
Loc: Berkshire, UK
Thanks
_________________________
Rio Mk II 20 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb Rio Mk IIa 60 Gb (pretending to be something else)

Top
#118364 - 29/09/2002 12:08 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
sundayjumper
journeyman

Registered: 19/06/2002
Posts: 72
Loc: West Berkshire
Any power supply *with the right polarity* that produces between 12 & 16 volts should be fine. I acquired one from work that orginally came with a CDRW drive, and it works perfectly. Also, the power supply from my parents' scanner works with my Empeg. No harm getting a nice regulated one, but you might have something suitable lying around already !


Steve.
_________________________
Mk2a 10+40Gb Darkstorm Neon Red Nakamichi CD45z, Genesis Five Channel, Genesis A16s, JL 8W6 x3

Top
#118365 - 29/09/2002 12:52 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sundayjumper]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
..as long as it can produce enough amps, i think anything capable of 1 amp is ok (along with what sundayjumper mentioned)...

Adrian

Top
#118366 - 29/09/2002 16:05 Re: Power Adapter [Re: smithj]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Guys, guys guys, I thought I had you all trained. You're supposed to just point him to the FAQ entry.

A FAQ is a terrible thing to waste.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118367 - 30/09/2002 00:22 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
..hehe...

the FAQ entry does seem to be about replacement supplies in the US though...It is an excellent FAQ though....

Adrian

Top
#118368 - 30/09/2002 03:23 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sn00p]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
I'm aware he was asking for a UK plug, but the FAQ also clearly states all of the requirements for the power supply, which was also part of the set of answers in this thread. He could probably find a suitable power supply on his own by checking those requirements.

The one at the SonicBlue store, linked earlier in this thread, has me suspicious. That is a picture of the Sunpower unit with a separate plug for the power to the wall. That unit would work in the UK as long as you supplied your own mains lead (one of the cords usually designed to plug PCs into the wall). However, I thought they were supposed to be all out of those units, hence my suspicion.

I'm worried that the thing that was linked from the Sonicblue store is an old link. Or, possibly, a bad illustration of the Sunpower unit when the actual in-stock item is the US-only plug-top adapter model that won't work in the UK. If anyone is able to successfully order one of these from that address, and when they get it, if it really is one of those Sunpower UK-compatible bricks, could you please tell me so I can link it officially from the FAQ?

There is also the issue that, even if it works, it's coming from the US Sonicblue store, which if I recall correctly won't ship outside of the USA. If the US Sonicblue store has only the UK-capable Sunpower bricks, and the UK support team has only the US-capable plugtop adapters, well, that would just be pretty damn ironic.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118369 - 30/09/2002 06:45 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
Chimaera
enthusiast

Registered: 10/09/2002
Posts: 285
Loc: DFW Area, Texas, US
I ordered a power brick from the Sonicblue store on the 16th Sept2002, and it is now sat on my desk at work happily powering my MK2.

What I got was a power brick that connects to the wall using a PC style power cable, the unit is 5x2x1 inches, has an input of 100-240VAC 50-60Hz, but is marked Analog Vision.

My original power brick was the Sunpower one that was only 2.5x1x1 inches and connected using a figure 8 cable but I don't have that one with me to compare the specs.

I can get a picture of the one I got from the store if you want one.

Mark,
MK2 20GB 090000916
_________________________
Mark. [blue]MKI, MKII & MKIIa, all Blue, and all Mine![/blue]

Top
#118370 - 30/09/2002 09:09 Re: Power Adapter [Re: Chimaera]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Okay, then. Rob or David, do you have any inside information about this item that I should add to the FAQ entry?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118371 - 30/09/2002 09:43 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
David
addict

Registered: 05/05/2000
Posts: 623
Loc: Cambridge
The SONICblue eStore only supply the Analog Vision units (not the one pictured). They are big and have IEC sockets. They supply 2.5A IIRC. They are fine, but if you need a USA adapter, I have the small plug-top adapters for 15UKP inc postage.

I have very few of the Sunpower IEC units remaining, so they are reserved for warranty use and are not generally for sale, since I would like to avoid having to place another order with them as I doubt I could sell the minimum order quantity.

The Sunpower units are available from Maplins. The manufacturer code is MA-150. 15V at 1A. You can order onlline at http://www.maplin.co.uk/

If anyone has difficulty sourcing one, then contact me directly.

Top
#118372 - 30/09/2002 09:45 Re: Power Adapter [Re: David]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Thanks! Adding the Maplins link to the FAQ...
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118373 - 30/09/2002 09:50 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
... I take that back. Not adding the Maplin link until I can find the proper code:



Attachments
117034-maplin.gif (72 downloads)

_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118374 - 30/09/2002 09:57 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Is it their PJ89W part? Is that the one?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118375 - 30/09/2002 10:44 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
...PJ88V (as I mentioned earlier in the thread )

Adrian

Top
#118376 - 30/09/2002 10:57 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sn00p]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
/me smacks his forehead...
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118377 - 30/09/2002 11:12 Re: Power Adapter [Re: sn00p]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Okay, the V is the 12v model and the W is the 15v model. I seem to remember (not positive) that the Sunpower unit I got with my Mk1 was a 15v model. Empeg guys... which one is correct?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118378 - 30/09/2002 13:30 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
g_attrill
old hand

Registered: 14/04/2002
Posts: 1172
Loc: Hants, UK
In reply to:

Okay, the V is the 12v model and the W is the 15v model. I seem to remember (not positive) that the Sunpower unit I got with my Mk1 was a 15v model. Empeg guys... which one is correct?




I can't comment on which one definately came with the empeg (since I have a US version) but the order code for the 12V is PJ88V, the 15V is PJ89W - the last digit is a check digit.

Gareth

Top
#118379 - 30/09/2002 21:37 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
Jonathan
new poster

Registered: 03/01/2002
Posts: 24
Loc: Skövde, Sweden
The one I got with my MK2a is the PJ89W one.

Top
#118380 - 30/09/2002 21:55 Re: Power Adapter [Re: Jonathan]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31181
Loc: Seattle, WA
Ok, thanks, I've added that to the FAQ.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#118381 - 01/10/2002 01:17 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
sn00p
addict

Registered: 24/07/2002
Posts: 600
Loc: South London
The PJ88V works here without problem too.

Adrian

Top
#118382 - 01/10/2002 01:58 Re: Power Adapter [Re: tfabris]
David
addict

Registered: 05/05/2000
Posts: 623
Loc: Cambridge
Just checked - it is MA15-150. The Maplins code for the 15V model is corect. 12V is fine as well.

Top