Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#137155 - 25/01/2003 13:40 GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
When I moved GPSApp out of the /programs0 drive (I put in in /drive0/var/gpsapp instead), it still worked as before, except now it doesn't find the ROUTES subfolder any more. I made sure that I created the /drive0/var/gpsapp/routes folder and populated it, but I think GPSapp is hard coded to get the files from /programs0/routes instead.

Can it either (a) look for a subfolder called "routes" from the current app location or (b) get spec'd in config.ini?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137156 - 25/01/2003 14:02 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
How about this (defines routedir option)


Attachments
136006-diff (197 downloads)


Top
#137157 - 25/01/2003 14:36 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Ewww, that's that messy "source code" stuff.

(Thanks a million-- Looking forward to trying it out once I can get my hands on a binary.)
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137158 - 25/01/2003 16:47 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
Whine whine whine


Attachments
136038-gpsapp (213 downloads)


Top
#137159 - 25/01/2003 18:57 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Thanks! Just put it in place, adding routedir= to config.ini, and...

Argh, I'm getting a "Checking Disk Integrity" pass when trying to synch the config.ini with emplode. I coulda SWORN that I put the thing back in RO mode each and every time I did something today.

Oh well. I'll post the results in about two hours...
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137160 - 25/01/2003 20:34 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Okay, I get "No Routes Found" despite a folder populated with routes.

Current syntax of my config.ini, verified with FTP, is:

[gpsapp]
track=false
scale=false
routedir=/drive0/var/gpsapp/routes

And that is the correct folder name. Should that also have another slash at the end or what?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137161 - 25/01/2003 21:11 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
I also tried:

routedir=drive0/var/gpsapp/routes
routedir=/drive0/var/gpsapp/routes/
routedir=/drive0/var/gpsapp

No dice...
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137162 - 25/01/2003 21:36 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
I did:
[gpsapp]
track=1
routedir=programs1/route

And it opened the directory. A leading slash should also be ok (for you, not for me, I'm testing using gpsapp_host)

Top
#137163 - 25/01/2003 21:38 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
And I tried routedir=drive0/var/gpsapp/routes after making that directory, and it also worked. Not on the player, yet. Perhaps I should install this there also.

Top
#137164 - 25/01/2003 22:04 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/02/2002
Posts: 3411
Sanity-check - I assume that your route population is fairly new, have you checked that the routes have readable permissions? (Oh, and directory too..)
_________________________
Mk2a 60GB Blue. Serial 030102962 sig.mp3: File Format not Valid.

Top
#137165 - 25/01/2003 22:32 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: genixia]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
Nah, I can reproduce it, but... only on the player.

Top
#137166 - 25/01/2003 22:41 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
Nope, I lied. The "reproducible" problem was actually a NULL embedded in my config.ini. Here's the neat thing. I did:
cat >> /empeg/var/config.ini
and pasted into it on the player. The NULL appeared in the text I pasted (as ^@ of course).

How bloody annoying.

Top
#137167 - 25/01/2003 22:55 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
This is literally the binary I'm running on my player.


Attachments
136083-gpsapp (225 downloads)


Top
#137168 - 25/01/2003 22:55 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
And here's the diff, slightly different from the last.


Attachments
136084-diff2 (188 downloads)


Top
#137169 - 26/01/2003 00:50 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: genixia]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Sanity-check - I assume that your route population is fairly new, have you checked that the routes have readable permissions? (Oh, and directory too..)

Yes, owner is tagged as RWX and group/all are tagged as R.

I tried uploading a fresh route and that one didn't show up either. Still get No Routes Found. And no null characters in my config.ini as far as I can tell.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137170 - 26/01/2003 00:51 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
This is literally the binary I'm running on my player.

Tried this one as well, which is a a few bytes different from the earlier one. No difference in behavior on my end.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137171 - 26/01/2003 01:01 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
And I tried routedir=drive0/var/gpsapp/routes after making that directory, and it also worked.

And there was no /programs0 partition and even if there was, there was nothing in it?

See, my goal was to remove the need for /programs0 and preinit completely. So one of the things I made sure to do was to get rid of that partition (or at least make sure it wasn't mounted). At first I thought GPSapp was working in the new folder, until I realized I'd still left /programs0 lying around as-is. This all started going bad after I removed preinint and /programs0....
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137172 - 26/01/2003 01:05 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
I also tried converting my config.ini from CR/LFs to just LFs and that didn't change the behavior...

I keep expecting there to be a typo in the path name, but I've quadruple-checked it and made sure it was a zero and not the letter O.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137173 - 26/01/2003 01:11 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: genixia]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
I assume that your route population is fairly new

Hang on a bit. Define why "fairly new" is important. I uploaded a fresh route today, just to test. But it was created using a python script that's a few months old. Did the script change, or did file format of the routes change in the last few months without me knowing about it? Or did the expected file names of the routes change?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137174 - 26/01/2003 01:23 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
And there was no /programs0 partition and even if there was, there was nothing in it?

Long before opening the route directory it does chdir("/"), so where the binary lives really doesn't matter. drive0/var/gpsapp/routes is the same as /drive0/var/gpsapp/routes, and both are the same regardless of where you run the binary from. I'm not planning to move my binaries, or my data, for now, but I did make a separate routes directory and populate it with a different set of routes, to demonstrate that it opened the right one. It did. So I added some printf code and ran it by hand on the empeg. It opened *only* the right directory.

Top
#137175 - 26/01/2003 01:24 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
The expected filenames of the routes? They're expected to be named whatever you want to name them.

Top
#137176 - 26/01/2003 01:34 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
And I can give you such a binary but in order to be useful you have to
not run it from hijack, but instead either telnet to the player (assuming telnetd) or connect to the serial port, and run gpsapp by hand, because otherwise the output from printfs doesn't go anywhere useful.

Top
#137177 - 26/01/2003 01:36 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
So I added some printf code and ran it by hand on the empeg. It opened *only* the right directory.

May I borrow that and try it?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137178 - 26/01/2003 01:42 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3937
Loc: Providence, RI
Warning: very verbose.


Attachments
136098-gpsapp (230 downloads)


Top
#137179 - 26/01/2003 01:44 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Where do the printF's appear? on the serial console or on the empeg screen?

(I'm getting neither with that file...)
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137180 - 26/01/2003 01:59 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
Okay, well, going to bed so maybe things will be clearer tomorrow.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137181 - 26/01/2003 08:52 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

Registered: 08/02/2002
Posts: 3411

Hang on a bit. Define why "fairly new" is important.


Well, not that the routes themselves were new, but that their install location to the empeg was...hence leading to the question of permissions.

I can't think of any other reason why route date would make a difference.
_________________________
Mk2a 60GB Blue. Serial 030102962 sig.mp3: File Format not Valid.

Top
#137182 - 26/01/2003 11:27 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: Daria]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14390
Loc: Canada
Hijack v307 now connects exec'd programs to the serial console for output (and input!).

-ml

Top
#137183 - 26/01/2003 11:34 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31473
Loc: Seattle, WA
All right, I've got "why" GPSapp isn't working. After Mark released version 307 of Hijack, the error output now properly appears on my serial console.

And what GPSapp is doing, if I understand what it's telling me, is not parsing config.ini right. But I don't know why. I tried reducing the size of config.ini (from 4k to 2k) and it still didn't help.

I get a whole bunch of stuff like this on the serial console:

    match routedir inside 0 passed
    flag12=Wendy flag 13
    flag11=Wendy flag 12
    flag10=Wendy flag 11
    flag9=Wendy flag 10
    flag8=Wendy flag 9
    flag7=Wendy flag 8
    flag6=Wendy flag 7
    flag5=Wendy flag 6
    flag4=Wendy flag 5
    flag3=Wendy flag 4
    flag2=Test Wendy Flag
    flag1=Tod Likes
    flag0=Jenny Hates

    [Options]
    Name=Tony's Mark 2

    [User Info]
    [email protected]
    Phone=
    Name=Tony Fabris

    [Network]
    Gateway=0.0.0.0
    Netmask=255.255.255.0
    IPAddress=10.99.2.43
    DHCP=1


It does this for a bunch of possible parameters, not just routedir. It seems that it's trying to locate the value for "routedir" and instead of finding a nice little path string, it finds most of the rest of config.ini in the string, but NOT the string I carefully put there. Incidentally, I moved
the GPSapp section to the top of my config.ini, like this:

[gpsapp]
routedir=drive0/var/gpsapp/routes
track=false
scale=false

With the Hijack section just below it, in case there was something funky about the parsing of later elements screwing it up, it didn't change the behavior.

Question: You're not reproducing my bug, but are you running the latest hijack and are you running GPSapp his new way?

I can send a copy of my whole config.ini in a private message, if you think that would help.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#137184 - 26/01/2003 11:41 Re: GPSApp Request: Spec location of routes [Re: tfabris]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Registered: 29/08/2000
Posts: 14390
Loc: Canada
Oh! Mmm.. I have an idea here..

The point where Hijack EXECs GPSapp is during the first read() call by the player for the config.ini file.

So Hijack has not yet finished parsing config.ini, or applying macros etc..
Which should not affect GPSapp (assuming it's not using AC/DC/.HOME/WORK macros etc..).

But.. perhaps this causes Hijack to muck up when somebody else (GPSapp) reads config.ini at the same time..

I'll look into this ASAP.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >