Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#140571 - 05/02/2003 17:38 Silly display repeater
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3454
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
Thought I'd post this as it might be of interest to you lot

http://public.fotki.com/altman/cars/noble_bits/

Rather a work in progress, but to solve the problem of not being able to mount my empeg in view of the driver in my new car (well, the one which will hopefully arrive in 6 months or so), I've put a small VFD actually inside the revcounter.

More pics when I've finished it. Basically it's a monochrome (no greyscales) 128x32 VFD module from Itron hooked up to the serial port of the empeg with some software changes (though it's simple enough to go into Hijack if required). Currently you only get about 3 frames per second, but I'll sort that out before it gets installed

Hugo

Top
#140572 - 05/02/2003 17:44 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31328
Loc: Seattle, WA
Any chance that you'd also publish the schematic for the interface so that I can update this and this?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#140573 - 05/02/2003 17:50 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: tfabris]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3454
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
The schematic is as simple as a 5v power supply and a 5v<>RS232 level converter (ie, a MAX232). The module has a standard 19200bps serial interface to it.

I'm planning to move to a 115200bps link to another microcontroller (probably a mitsubishi 16c62 series - though if I told you what else that was going to appear in, I'd have to kill you) which will then drive the display over SPI - either that or I'll drive the display direct and try and get greyscales.

Hugo

Top
#140574 - 05/02/2003 18:22 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4913
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
Hmmm. I was thinking of putting a real real turbo gauge in my car since the stock one is driven of the engine control computer and is simply there for eye candy. Adding this to that would be hella dope.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#140575 - 05/02/2003 18:45 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
loren
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/08/2000
Posts: 3826
Loc: SLC, UT, USA


i have not the words.
_________________________
|| loren ||

Top
#140576 - 05/02/2003 19:13 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
Daria
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/01/2002
Posts: 3932
Loc: Providence, RI
Oh my, I so want this.

Top
#140577 - 05/02/2003 19:16 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
jimhogan
carpal tunnel

Registered: 06/10/1999
Posts: 2591
Loc: Seattle, WA, U.S.A.
Thought I'd post this as it might be of interest to you lot

Holy [censored] [censored]!

You've been watching _Scanners_ again.
_________________________
Jim


'Tis the exceptional fellow who lies awake at night thinking of his successes.

Top
#140578 - 05/02/2003 19:28 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: jimhogan]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Twisted, sick, I love it!!! Now, if you can rig a heads-up display, so it doesn't need a dask gauge retrofit and can be done easily...
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#140579 - 05/02/2003 19:45 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
mrfixit
enthusiast

Registered: 14/06/2002
Posts: 337
Umm... dude you have way too much time on your hands. But I love it
_________________________
Ben
mk2a 60gig green/Greenlights Buttons
mk2a 60gig green/Greenlights Buttons
mk2a 40gig blue no illumination....yet
hijacked

Top
#140580 - 06/02/2003 00:34 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
jarob10
enthusiast

Registered: 07/01/2002
Posts: 274
Loc: Stockport, UK
flash b**tard
_________________________
A coward you are, an expert on bulls you are not.

Top
#140581 - 06/02/2003 02:02 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
skibum
enthusiast

Registered: 27/03/2002
Posts: 248
Loc: Swindon, UK
I hope when finished you'll be making this available to buy. My car has a cover for the radio area which I usually keep shut, so it would be nice to be able to see the track info etc somewhere else
_________________________
Andy MK2a 60GB Amber 040103916 32mb/Light Kit MK2a 50GB Amber 030102560 32mb

Top
#140582 - 06/02/2003 02:55 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
thinfourth2
Pooh-Bah

Registered: 13/04/2001
Posts: 1742
Loc: The land of the pale blue peop...
A noble way cool have to find a link so our american friends know what it is
_________________________
P.Allison fixer of big engines Mk2+Mk2a signed by God / Hacked by the Lord Aberdeen Scotland

Top
#140583 - 06/02/2003 03:29 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: thinfourth2]
skibum
enthusiast

Registered: 27/03/2002
Posts: 248
Loc: Swindon, UK
_________________________
Andy MK2a 60GB Amber 040103916 32mb/Light Kit MK2a 50GB Amber 030102560 32mb

Top
#140584 - 06/02/2003 04:05 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: skibum]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Oh my.

Pretty nice little vehicle there, indeed.

At around how much does one of those babies sticker? $80,000 - $100,000 I'd guess?

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#140585 - 06/02/2003 04:13 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: johnmcd3]
johnmcd3
enthusiast

Registered: 19/04/2001
Posts: 369
Loc: Seattle, WA (formerly Houston,...
Still excited by this.

How cool would it be to have the option of remote mounting the empeg with this in the instument panel and using steering wheel controls. (Of course this has been discussed before, now it's much more realistic to consider.)

(Be even cooler if the display were 2BPP, but still, that's pretty bad ass Hugo...)

John
_________________________
1998 BMW ///M3 30 GB Mk2a, Tuner, and 10 GB backup

Top
#140586 - 06/02/2003 04:14 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: johnmcd3]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4153
Loc: Cambridge, England
At around how much does one of those babies sticker? $80,000 - $100,000 I'd guess?

I'm not sure which one Hugo's getting (they've announced a convertible now, hint hint Hugo) but the basic one "stickers at" about 45,000, so say $70,000.

Peter

Top
#140587 - 06/02/2003 05:06 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: thinfourth2]
snoopstah
enthusiast

Registered: 07/01/2002
Posts: 324
Loc: Squamish, BC
It's just a Mondeo in disguise!

_________________________
Empeg Mk2a 60G with amber lit buttons kit - #30102490

PhotoVancouver | Squamish, BC Webcam | Personal Website

Top
#140588 - 06/02/2003 07:13 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
Phoenix42
veteran

Registered: 21/03/2002
Posts: 1394
Loc: MA but Irish born
Impressive.
What sort of cost are we talking about here?
And what options? would it be possible to drive a serial LCD module?

Top
#140589 - 06/02/2003 07:39 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
Chimaera
enthusiast

Registered: 10/09/2002
Posts: 285
Loc: DFW Area, Texas, US
Hey!, so why the Noble then, I much prefer the T350, but then again I would say that

OK, so I looked at your Motorshow pics, so shoot me
_________________________
Mark. [blue]MKI, MKII & MKIIa, all Blue, and all Mine![/blue]

Top
#140590 - 06/02/2003 08:07 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
image
old hand

Registered: 28/04/2002
Posts: 770
Loc: Los Angeles, CA
is it possible to inverse the display so you can put on top of the dash and reflect it off your windshield, ala transparent empeg?

don't even have to look away from the road anymore. not even down to the meters =)

Top
#140591 - 06/02/2003 09:12 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
g_attrill
old hand

Registered: 14/04/2002
Posts: 1172
Loc: Hants, UK
Hugo, just don't do this with it!

Gareth

Top
#140592 - 06/02/2003 09:59 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: g_attrill]
loren
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/08/2000
Posts: 3826
Loc: SLC, UT, USA
Hugo... what color?!
_________________________
|| loren ||

Top
#140593 - 06/02/2003 12:19 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: johnmcd3]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3454
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
They start at about US$70k, depending on the exchange rate. Rumoured 0-60 sprint times for the newer 3 litre twin turbos is 3.5 seconds

Hugo

Top
#140594 - 06/02/2003 12:22 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: loren]
altman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/05/1999
Posts: 3454
Loc: Palo Alto, CA
Well, it's going to be Monaco Blue Pearlescent, which incidentally is that amazing blue you get on the 2002 Honda/Acura NSX; didn't much fancy any of the stock colours, fingers crossed I found the right paint code to give to the factory

Hugo

Top
#140595 - 06/02/2003 14:01 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
loren
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/08/2000
Posts: 3826
Loc: SLC, UT, USA
Niiiiice. Wow. That's it, i'm coming to Cambridge just to get a ride in that sucker when you get it. So nice.
_________________________
|| loren ||

Top
#140596 - 06/02/2003 16:52 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
GR0tto
new poster

Registered: 15/01/2003
Posts: 2
Loc: Australia
Oh man I want this! Please say you will be selling these.

Top
#140597 - 06/02/2003 17:50 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
rtundo
addict

Registered: 27/02/2001
Posts: 569
Loc: Albany, NY
That install is awesome. With some basic voice activated commands... sorry, just dreaming again

Top
#140598 - 06/02/2003 17:56 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
fusto
addict

Registered: 27/12/2001
Posts: 504
Loc: Lummi Island, WA
Paddle shifters?

Z~
_________________________
...all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by.

Top
#140599 - 07/02/2003 06:32 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: rtundo]
rtundo
addict

Registered: 27/02/2001
Posts: 569
Loc: Albany, NY
Now that I started to think about it, that display would fit right where my onstar buttons reside in the dash. And the empeg could be controlled by the steering wheel. hmmm....

Top
#140600 - 07/02/2003 06:42 Re: Silly display repeater [Re: altman]
tman
carpal tunnel

Registered: 24/12/2001
Posts: 5528
Nice. I do hope you've got the right paint code though otherwise it could be interesting when your florescent pink Noble with go-faster-stripes turns up

- Trevor

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >