Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#149857 - 26/03/2003 15:38 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: Chimaera]
Chimaera
enthusiast

Registered: 10/09/2002
Posts: 285
Loc: DFW Area, Texas, US
Although, didn't he say he already had some files in /drive0/fids, it may be worth deleting those first, or doing mv -f rather than just an mv
_________________________
Mark. [blue]MKI, MKII & MKIIa, all Blue, and all Mine![/blue]

Top
#149858 - 26/03/2003 15:45 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: JBjorgen]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5402
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
cd /drive0/drive1/fids
mv * /drive0/fids
cd /drive0
rm -rf drive1


This works better if I mount the disk read/write

It is moving the files now. Is this just rearranging directory structure, or is it actually copying/deleting all the files? I hope this doesn't take another three hours...

Well, obviously it won't, because it is done now.

At this point, all I should have to do is change back to read-only, exit the command shell, fire up emplode and force a re-synch to rebuild the database. Right?

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#149859 - 26/03/2003 15:55 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: tanstaafl.]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4153
Loc: Cambridge, England
cd /drive0/drive1/fids
mv * /drive0/fids
cd /drive0
rm -rf drive1
mv /drive0/fids /drive0/fids.not (or just rm -rf /drive0/fids)
mv /drive0/drive1/fids /drive0

would have been slightly quicker... oh well, too late.

Peter

Top
#149860 - 26/03/2003 15:57 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: tanstaafl.]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4153
Loc: Cambridge, England
At this point, all I should have to do is change back to read-only, exit the command shell, fire up emplode and force a re-synch to rebuild the database. Right?
Yup.

Peter

Top
#149861 - 26/03/2003 16:11 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: peter]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5402
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
Yup.

And indeed, empeg lives!

Thank you for all the help. The depth of knowledge and willingness to assist that prevails on this bbs never ceases to amaze me.

The re-synch generated some errors:

The length of playlist Comedy did not match the actual number of children detected

and repeated for Bach, Car Talk, and Steve Morse. I suspect this is the result of the damaged sectors in the database region of the original 18 GB drive, and that I have now lost a few more songs. Or, maybe not -- the player still shows the same total number of songs as I had on the 18 GB drive, so probably the errors were for songs present on the player and not in the database. A second synch fixed it and now everything is good.

Thanks again, people... now I can install the software upgrades and the Car Talk episodes I was sitting on because I couldn't synch my old drive.

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#149862 - 26/03/2003 16:39 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: tanstaafl.]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31286
Loc: Seattle, WA
So here's a question...

The problem was that the files ended up in a different directory than /drive0/fids. I'm assuming it was because of some kind of a mistake at the shell prompt during the copy operation. Does that mean there's a typo somewhere in the copy instructions in the Drive Upgrade Guide? Doug, were you going from those instructions?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#149863 - 03/04/2003 17:29 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: tfabris]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Greetings!

I started with these instructions for the new drive installs, and I got the same thing - a drive1 directory under /drive0. Perhaps what might be better might be:

# cp -a /drive1/* /drive0

That is what I intend to try next.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#149864 - 03/04/2003 17:37 Re: No playlists, no shell prompt on my player [Re: tfabris]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
I've used the command in the Guide line for line and never had a problem. I've done about 5 upgrades over the last few months for myself and other owners I know. I'm guessing a typo too.

Edit: Looks like he entered "cp -a /drive1 /drive0" and the Guide has "cp -auvfx /drive1/fids /drive0/" ...


Edited by SE_Sport_Driver (03/04/2003 17:43)
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2