Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#224548 - 04/02/2004 07:40 Newbie (don't shoot) needs help on wireless
mduran
stranger

Hya,

I just got a second hand Rio Central; just have it since yesterday and I'm delighted. I would be much obliged if someone could explain me in very simple terms (sorry I am not an expert on this) or point me to a tutorial on how I can connect wirelessly to my telephone line, which happens to be at the other side of the room) so that I get access to the CDDB and later on my Central can serve a Rio Receiver. I would like to know:

- what hardware (ethernet adapters, gateways or whatever) is compatible with the Central and can be purchased now (anno 2004)
- how they should be connected to the Central.
- Any other thing I should mind.

PLease have mercy; I acknowledge my ignorance... ;-)

#224549 - 04/02/2004 11:26 Re: Newbie (don't shoot) needs help on wireless [Re: mduran]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
My goodness, the telephone line seems like it would be such a waste for wireless. Ethernet, now that's a noble cause!

To use ethernet with the Rio Central, you need one of the supported USB-to-ethernet adapters. A couple of supported models are listed in the "About" menu on the Central, or you can search for "USB Ethernet Adapter" on this BBS and hopefully find one or two others that were successful. After that, it's a question of setting up wireless bridges and such, and that's downright tricky to get working right.

Personally, I'd go to whatever trouble it takes run real wires anyway. So much simpler and easier in terms of configuration, and much more reliable.