Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#23377 - 06/12/2000 16:22 custom static visual
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
I discovered something interesting, so I decided to write a little program to have a custom bitmap serve as the static visual in the empeg player.
It is attached to this post. it reads a .bin-file from Tony's logo-editor and replaces the empeg logo with the home-image from logoeditor.
Usage :

setvisual <player executable> <bitmap file>

Please backup your player executable (/empeg/bin/player) before applying...

Frank van Gestel


Attachments
1-22593-setvisual.zip (8 downloads)

_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23378 - 07/12/2000 01:50 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
NOTE: this will probably only work on the 1.01rc2 & 1.01 version of the player app. I don't know if there is a difference in MKI/MKII versions...
Anyway, setvisual will check the size of the executable to have an exact size, so it shouldn't update older versions...

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23379 - 07/12/2000 01:53 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
mardibloke
addict

Registered: 14/08/2000
Posts: 468
Loc: Penarth, UK
A great idea Frank. Although based on your warnings I am a little nervous to try it. If anything goes wrong can I just reload the developer image and I am back to a working player ?

- --
Rod, UK Mk2 64gig Red S/No.341
_________________________
- --
Rod, UK

Top
#23380 - 07/12/2000 02:13 Re: custom static visual [Re: mardibloke]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
Yes, a reinstall of an Image will allways make your player workable again.
you could also make a backup of the original executable :

# rw
# cp /empeg/bin/player /empeg/bin/player.org
# ./setvisual /empeg/bin/player /tmp/image.bin
# ro

to restore the orginal executable :

# rw
# cp /empeg/bin/player.org /empeg/bin/player
# ro


Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23381 - 07/12/2000 14:36 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
jwtadmin
enthusiast

Registered: 05/09/2000
Posts: 210
Loc: Ipswich, MA
Frank-
Thanks for the great tool! I asked for this Months ago!
However when I run the install I get

empeg:/drive0/downloads/statvis# ./setvisual /empeg/bin/player img.bin
Player executable incorrect size: Success

My player looks like this

empeg:/drive0/downloads/statvis# ls -l /empeg/bin/player
-rwxr-xr-x 1 0 0 1076516 Oct 4 13:35 /empeg/bin/player

I reinstalled the 1.01 developer image after getting this message for the first time.

What's wrong?

John

_________________________
___ John Turner "It's easier to ask for forgiveness than to ask for permission"

Top
#23382 - 07/12/2000 15:29 Re: custom static visual [Re: jwtadmin]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
I probably got the 1.01-rc2 developer image installed. I read in a post that the 1.01 developer image didn't change at all, only the emplode software had minor fixes. They probably changed some header files and the resulting binary files differ... :(

I've written a new setvisual which also replaces the small startup-logo. read the readme.txt file at http://empeg.dyndns.org/empeg/setvisual
Source is included so you could change the file offsets and recompile. ( You can also mail me the player executable if the empeg guys don't mind ? )

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23383 - 08/12/2000 14:19 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
Alan
member

Registered: 06/05/2000
Posts: 142
Loc: Cedar Grove , IN
I haven't got this to work on my MK1 yet, has anyone sucessfully got it to work on an MK1?

AL

_________________________
home page

Top
#23384 - 09/12/2000 01:38 Re: custom static visual [Re: Alan]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Registered: 02/06/2000
Posts: 1996
Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
I too have a MkI and have been unable to make it work. (1.01rc2 developer)


Frank, what is the size of your player binary? Mine is 1030608 bytes.



_________________________
/Michael

Top
#23385 - 09/12/2000 10:16 Re: custom static visual [Re: mtempsch]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31583
Loc: Seattle, WA
I'm guessing that the Mark1 player executable and the Mark2 player executable are different (duh), and since Frank's code-replacer only goes by file size, then that's the root of why you can't make it work on a Mark1.

An idea: Frank, if you based the replacement code on scanning for the sequence of image bytes within the player executable instead of placing the hack into specified offsets, then it would work for both Mk1 and Mk2 units, as well as future-proof the code for upcoming versions.

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#23386 - 09/12/2000 14:36 Re: custom static visual [Re: tfabris]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
Good idea Tony. I also found the TuxMux bitmap BTW. I'll try to integrate some things in displayserver too. It would be cool to just upload some .bin files from your webbrowser to patch the executable and restart it.

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23387 - 10/12/2000 09:16 Re: custom static visual [Re: mtempsch]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
Mine is 1076708 bytes long.
I must tell my wife... hehe...

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23388 - 10/12/2000 16:48 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
I've got a new version of setvisual which will try to detect the correct offsets.
I also tries to update the Tux Much visual.
usage has changed; just run it and it will start asking questions eg:

empeg:/# rw
empeg:/# cp /empeg/bin/player /empeg/bin/player.org
empeg:/# cp /empeg/lib/primitives.bin /empeg/lib/primitives.bin.org
empeg:/# ./setvisual
found static visual bitmap at offset 862432; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/static.bin
written static visual
found startup-logo bitmap at offset 866828; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/startuplogo.bin
written startup-logo
found Tux Much bitmap at offset 400256; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/tuxmuch.bin
written Tux Much image
empeg:/# ro

It now automatically updates the files /empeg/bin/player and /empeg/lib/primitives.bin
Only the home-image from the bin file is used. the image for the startup-logo is a smaller size : 52x16. Put it in the left-top corner.

gzipped tar file can be found here
Please let me know if this works on MKI and other releases...


Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23389 - 11/12/2000 14:33 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Registered: 02/06/2000
Posts: 1996
Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
Works great for me! (MkI, 1.01rc2 developer)

First rate work from Frank, as always!

_________________________
/Michael

Top
#23390 - 13/12/2000 04:18 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
rockstar
enthusiast

Registered: 24/11/2000
Posts: 316
ok man, i am a total newbie to my empeg, so go easy on me.

I can ftp to my empeg, telnet what?

If i have a static i set to it, what would i login as, how would i telent to it, i mean, i know how to telnet, but i don't have any idea what the login and pass would be, is there a generic preset from the assembly line>?

IO see you have displayserver as well, i am super interested in this also, for the fto-ing back to my computer in the event of a loss. In face, i screwed p with tag and rename, and i hosed al my tags, and it would help me to at least get the ones back that i have on the empeg already.

So bearing in mind i am a total newbie, can i bug you to write out some specific instructions on teh telnet process to the empeg, most specifically what you login ass. I am a novice with linux/unix, but know enough to navigate dirs and run progs, etc..

thanks for your time


Top
#23391 - 13/12/2000 05:28 Re: custom static visual [Re: rockstar]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
First of all, you cannot telnet into a standard empeg. a command prompt will be available over serial. Here are some instructions to get you going...

step 0 : download setvisual.tgz from http://empeg.dyndns.org/empeg/setvisual. The attached version only works on one specific developer-image and doesn't modify the Tux much visual.
step 1 : Connect your empeg through serial to your PC
step 2 : power on your empeg.
step 3 : start emplode and install a developer image on your empeg ( see emplode help )
step 4 : stop emplode
step 5 : start hyperterm
step 6 : set hyperterm to 115200 baud, 8N1, no handshaking
step 7 : reboot your empeg. Boot messages should appear in hyperterm
step 8 : press 'q' in hyperterm a couple of times after the empeg has booted
step 9 : a shell-prompt should appear. type command 'rw' to mount the root fs readwrite
step 7 : choose transfer->send-file from hyperterm menu and send the setvisual-executable and .bin-files
step 8 : type command 'chmod +x setvisual'
step 9 : backup your original files :

empeg:/# cp /empeg/bin/player /empeg/bin/player.org
empeg:/# cp /empeg/lib/primitives.bin /empeg/lib/primitives.bin.org

step 10 : start setvisual :

empeg:/# ./setvisual
found static visual bitmap at offset 862432; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/static.bin
written static visual
found startup-logo bitmap at offset 866828; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/startuplogo.bin
written startup-logo
found Tux Much bitmap at offset 400256; replace? [Y/N] y
bitmap filename : /tmp/tuxmuch.bin
written Tux Much image
empeg:/#

step 11 : mount the root filesystem readonly :

empeg:/# ro

step 12 : reboot your empeg
step 13 : enjoy your new visuals...

To restore the original files :

empeg:/# rw
empeg:/# cp /empeg/bin/player.org /empeg/bin/player
empeg:/# cp /empeg/lib/primitives.bin.org /empeg/lib/primitives.bin



Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23392 - 13/12/2000 05:54 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
rockstar
enthusiast

Registered: 24/11/2000
Posts: 316
thanks a lot man, i appreciate your time and patience.

are you the only 3rd party empeg developer now? i haven't seen any others, looks like you write all teh 3rd party stuff.


anyway, thanks again


Top
#23393 - 13/12/2000 05:58 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
rockstar
enthusiast

Registered: 24/11/2000
Posts: 316
oh sorry one other thing, the .bin files are the static image, i am not familiar with that format, is that something paint/photoshop can handle?


Top
#23394 - 13/12/2000 06:03 Re: custom static visual [Re: rockstar]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
.bin files are created by logoeditor. look at Tony's homepage here

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23395 - 13/12/2000 06:07 Re: custom static visual [Re: rockstar]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
In reply to:

thanks a lot man, i appreciate your time and patience.


Well, you could send me your latest single... I assume you really are a rockstar...

In reply to:

are you the only 3rd party empeg developer now? i haven't seen any others, looks like you write all teh 3rd party stuff.


I know, I must be berzerk, but I am not the only one...
look at the links sections of the unofficial developers-site and geek-site for other 3rd-party stuff...

Frank van Gestel

_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23396 - 13/12/2000 07:50 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
Alan
member

Registered: 06/05/2000
Posts: 142
Loc: Cedar Grove , IN
Frank,

It works fine on my MK1s, Thanks and keep up the good work :)

AL

_________________________
home page

Top
#23397 - 13/12/2000 10:42 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
prolux
member

Registered: 17/08/1999
Posts: 151
Loc: Manchester, UK
You can find the correct offset for the image used in the TuxMuch visual by scanning the primitives.bin file for: int 128 followed by int 32 (both 32 bit unsigned words)

Make sure you only replace the first instance of this, or you'll end up with a very strange looking Anna Vu!

Note that in v1.1 this will not be necessary as the image is loaded at runtime.




Top
#23398 - 13/12/2000 12:59 Re: custom static visual [Re: prolux]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Registered: 02/06/2000
Posts: 1996
Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
In reply to:

Make sure you only replace the first instance of this, or you'll end up with a very strange looking Anna Vu!


Does that mean that we can change the 'faceplate' behind
the 'needles' on Anna Vu?

_________________________
/Michael

Top
#23399 - 13/12/2000 13:10 Re: custom static visual [Re: mtempsch]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
We can also update the fonts found in the informative visuals...

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23400 - 13/12/2000 13:17 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
mtempsch
pooh-bah

Registered: 02/06/2000
Posts: 1996
Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
OK... I don't use them much myself as I find them too
annoying. But they can be handy when you want to read
(or allow others to read) what's playing from a distance -
for instance at a party.

Most of the people I've shown the empeg has liked though...

_________________________
/Michael

Top
#23401 - 14/12/2000 03:30 Re: custom static visual [Re: fvgestel]
prolux
member

Registered: 17/08/1999
Posts: 151
Loc: Manchester, UK
No - you can have a go, but you'd have to be a masterhacker. For a start the fonts are run-length encoded (6 bits count/2 bits data). Secondly in v1.01 the fonts are defined by two data blocks. One is effectively a header detailing character offsets and width/height data, the second contains the rle data.

Load primitives.bin into your favourite text editor and skip to the end of the file for some useful info.

v1.1 will see the birth of a new approach to font handling - you'll have to wait and see.


Top
#23402 - 14/12/2000 03:34 Re: custom static visual [Re: mtempsch]
prolux
member

Registered: 17/08/1999
Posts: 151
Loc: Manchester, UK
Have a go - correct positioning is most important. You might want to extract the original image to work out which pixels (off the bottom of the image) the needles rotate around.

If anyone comes up with a good alternative I might be convinced to include it in v1.1




Top
#23403 - 14/12/2000 04:40 Re: custom static visual [Re: prolux]
fvgestel
old hand

Registered: 12/08/2000
Posts: 702
Loc: Netherlands
I used Midnight Commander to scan the file, and could detect some characters by eye.
I found the Tux Much visual by poking at random places and restarting the player...
I wish I had seen the data at the end of the file sooner (ASCII view in midnight commander doesn't show it?), it would have been much easier...
I certainly do not want to modify the fonts though. As you said, it would be an immense work to complete...

Frank van Gestel
_________________________
Frank van Gestel

Top
#23404 - 14/12/2000 09:43 Re: custom static visual [Re: prolux]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31583
Loc: Seattle, WA
If anyone comes up with a good alternative I might be convinced to include it in v1.1

Cool, I'm on it.

Frank, do you have a way of extracting the binary data of the original image and sending it to me? I don't know how to do that right now.

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#23405 - 12/07/2001 11:44 custom static visual [Re: tfabris]
crazymelki
enthusiast

Registered: 16/02/2001
Posts: 373
Loc: Switzerland
does anybody knows if the static visual is working with 1.03?

Thanks....

cm
_________________________
crazymelki.com

Top
#23406 - 12/07/2001 12:16 Re: custom static visual [Re: crazymelki]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31583
Loc: Seattle, WA
No, as far as I know, that visual will be available when 1.1 is released.

___________
Tony Fabris
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#23407 - 19/09/2001 11:57 Re: custom static visual [Re: tfabris]
Captain_Chaos
member

Registered: 18/11/2000
Posts: 126
Loc: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
It does work in 1.03. I'm looking at my custom static visual right now...


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >