Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Page 8 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >
Topic Options
#235922 - 05/10/2006 14:11 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3520
Loc: Columbus, OH
It was a double header if you were watching on Versus (DirecTV Channel 608). They shared the same commentators, etc.. for the INHD broadcast.

Versus Broadcast Schedule
HDNet Broadcast Schedule
_________________________
~ John

Top
#235923 - 05/10/2006 14:36 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: JBjorgen]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Was channel 608 hi-def?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235924 - 05/10/2006 15:51 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3520
Loc: Columbus, OH
I'm not a DirecTV subscriber, but it shouldn't be. Versus is a standard def only channel. The games on the schedule that are marked HD will be shown on INHD in high def as well as Versus in standard def, so you'll need to adjust your DVR accordingly. Perhaps two season passes or wishlists with the HD one having higher priority.
_________________________
~ John

Top
#235925 - 05/10/2006 16:04 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: JBjorgen]
petteri
addict

Registered: 02/08/2004
Posts: 432
Loc: Miami, FL USA
Yep, only select VS. games are in HD. There isn't a dedicated HD channel for VS. yet, so the providers that do carry the channel and want to show the HD version will have to use a 'special use' channel. I kinda though that by now there would be a HD Vs. channel, but I guess they don't really have enough HD programming at this point to do that.

In anycase, anyone here have the new (is it out yet?) HD stand alone TIVO? I'm moving soon and was giving some thought to it, but the price is really a tad too high.

Top
#235926 - 05/10/2006 16:37 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: petteri]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3520
Loc: Columbus, OH
I was prepared to buy one immediately and transfer my lifetime membership until I found out that you can't get guide data for them in the UK. I may be moving there in a little over a year and I couldn't justify the expense for just a year. Especially since the price will likely drop after all of the early adopters buy and I'd not be able to get my money back out of it. Check here for reviews.
_________________________
~ John

Top
#235927 - 05/10/2006 16:49 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: JBjorgen]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
I'm not a DirecTV subscriber, but it shouldn't be. Versus is a standard def only channel.

Strange, because that game I watched last night, on that random DirecTV channel merely labeled "HD", was all "Versus" logo'ed and everything, it kept saying Versus on the screen, had the versus logo between the scores, and kept having ads for versus. All graphics were at HD resolution, everything was in 16:9 ratio and very sharp HD resolution.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235928 - 05/10/2006 16:50 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: petteri]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
the providers that do carry the channel and want to show the HD version will have to use a 'special use' channel.

Ah, that explains it. Thanks.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235929 - 11/10/2006 20:04 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Cons:
* No OTA (this will be coming in October supposedly)

Did this come?

I've got a friend who is planning on upgrading his DirecTV setup. Did they enable this on the new box?

PS: My HR10-250 still doesn't have its v6 software upgrade.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235930 - 11/10/2006 22:45 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
No, but there have been 3 "upgrades" in the past 3 weeks. The official word that is OTA is coming before Dec 1st, but it's rumored to be coming "much sooner."

The upgrades have been focused on HDMI compatibility, proper DVR function, and proper MPEG4 recording. The box still isn't ready for primetime, but it's getting better with every release. The worst thing it did to me was dump a program that was missing chunks due to rain fade instead of just keeping the partial. That has apparently been fixed, but since getting the new (huge) 5-LNB dish, rainfade seems like much less of an issue. It's raining here right now, but the MPEG4 HDTV channels are working like a charm without issue.

On the whole, I think I'm more pleased with the HR20 than I would have been with an HR10-250. Compared to even the 6.x Tivo software, the menus are lightning-fast. Setting up a season pass (series link) is as easy as pressing the record button twice when hovering over a show in the guide. Contrary to my initial pros/cons, skip-to-tick and skip to end/beginning do exist. The only thing I wish it had was the dual live-bufers, but word is that DirecTV is considering adding this.

One major funtion that was enabled in last week's software upgrade was the eSATA port. It's now possible to upgrade your recording capacity simply by plugging in an eSATA drive to the back. The downside is that you can only use the internal drive or the external drive, not both at the same time. This may change, and there is talk of adding the ability to move shows between the two drives for archival purposes, but this is all largely unsubstantiated.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235931 - 11/10/2006 23:03 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
I'm geeked about all of those updates. In the past, DirecTV had to wait for Tivo to write updates and then they had to negotiate the features and probably pay Tivo for it. If DirecTV stays active like this, it's promising. When I worked for Hughes, they weren't known for updating their receiver's software at all.

I wonder if they follow any forums... Is the TivoCommunityForums following this at all or do you have another site?

Once they allow transfers between units, I'm there! Ethernet would be preferred.
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#235932 - 12/10/2006 00:28 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
dbstalk.com has the most active forum for this box. Earl Bonovich is a DirecTV insider of sorts and has stated that DirecTV is reading the forum.

Since DirecTV doesn't have as much in the way of choice of receivers these days, the HR20 is their flagship product. It really has to work as designed asap, or it can severely affect their reputation. Many people on that forum resent being treated as beta testers, but I would have to imagine the vast majority of them knew that going in. With the latest update that came today, I would say this box is working well enough now for the common user. One major issue that remains is pixelation during fast forward of MPEG4 recordings. Other than that, most of the show stoppers appear to have been ironed-out. There are still minor things like incompatibility with some HDMI TVs and caller ID display not always working. I'm confident these things will be fixed based on the frequent updates, but I use neither of those features.

There is still some polishing that needs to be done. OTA is the most requested, but sound effects are also disabled due to the complexity of inserting them into the digital audio stream. There was another grayed-out function, but I can't recall it right now. Dual live buffers would be great, but that was never an intended feature.

I would bet show sharing is in the works. I'm sure some form of video extraction will become possible due to the ability to use external storage.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235933 - 12/10/2006 02:48 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
It seems that if you pay for local channels, you get the local HD channels for free. Even if you didn't, it would be included in the $10 HD fee. So... why would people want OTA turned on unless their city doesn't broadcast the locals in HD?

Seeing how people have been talking about this unit since January and some people have reviewed it with earlier software, I found this review that is pretty recent: Link.

It mentions that you can't hide unsuscribed channels from the Guide... is this still true? I hope that's on the to-do list if true.


Edited by SE_Sport_Driver (12/10/2006 02:58)
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#235934 - 12/10/2006 12:33 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
Tim
veteran

Registered: 25/04/2000
Posts: 1487
Loc: Arizona
Local HD channels are only available OTA, they don't go through a satellite. At least that is how it was explained to me.

Top
#235935 - 12/10/2006 12:52 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
It seems that if you pay for local channels, you get the local HD channels for free.

I'm sure you would, if they existed. Unfortunately, DirecTV's *local* re-feeds are standard-def only.

They have a few *national* HD network feeds. For example, an NBC station out of LA and one out of NY, if I recall correctly. The problem is, in order to get THOSE, you've either got to live in that town, or you've got to request permission from your local affiliates. I was denied the permission when I made the request here in Seattle. (It was the day following that when I put up my roof antenna to get the HD OTA signals.)
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235936 - 13/10/2006 01:11 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Long ago, before HD, I had east and west coast feeds of the big three networks. (Originally, the east coast CBS feed was my local station (which was also, incidentally, the first HD broadcaster in the US), which was kinda neat, but they changed it to the NY station at some point.) Then, at some point, the local ABC and CBS stations complained, and their feeds were removed, but I kept the NBC. Then, when I got HD, I had the HD feeds of NBC, too. Then someone decided that I was only eligible to receive the east coast HD NBC feed. I don't know what the rules are, but they seem very haphazard.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#235937 - 13/10/2006 01:37 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
Quote:
They have a few *national* HD network feeds. For example, an NBC station out of LA and one out of NY, if I recall correctly. The problem is, in order to get THOSE, you've either got to live in that town, or you've got to request permission from your local affiliates. I was denied the permission when I made the request here in Seattle. (It was the day following that when I put up my roof antenna to get the HD OTA signals.)

Seattle locals are available in MPEG4 from DirecTV. See this list. I recall DirecTV is waiting for permission to rebroadcast a few of them, but some are available right now. You would need an MPEG4 capable receiver (H20 or HR20) and a new 5-LNB dish though.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235938 - 13/10/2006 01:56 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Registered: 05/01/2001
Posts: 4903
Loc: Detroit, MI USA
I heard Detroit was first so that's what prompted me to ask.
_________________________
Brad B.

Top
#235939 - 13/10/2006 09:25 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: wfaulk]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
I don't know what the rules are, but they seem very haphazard.

The rules aren't haphazard, it's either DirecTV's adherence to rules, or your local stations' willingness to grant permission, that's haphazard.

Early on, I think more local stations were willing to grant permission, until they realized just how many local advertising eyballs they were losing to DBS.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235940 - 13/10/2006 09:27 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Seattle locals are available in MPEG4 from DirecTV.

<cartman>God damnit.</cartman>
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235941 - 13/10/2006 11:06 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
Quote:
It mentions that you can't hide unsuscribed channels from the Guide... is this still true? I hope that's on the to-do list if true.

I will have to check that tonight.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235942 - 13/10/2006 11:43 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
I always hated the way DirecTV receivers worked in that respect.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235943 - 13/10/2006 16:40 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
Quote:
PS: My HR10-250 still doesn't have its v6 software upgrade.

Reaction from people that did get the upgrade doesn't look very good on TCF. My father just came to me today complaining of bad audio/video stuttering on his HR10-250. I don't know for sure if he got 6.3a, but his unit never did that before.

Either way, it looks like there are major problems with 6.3a. Hopefully Tivo can roll-out another new version quickly.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235944 - 13/10/2006 17:05 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
I read some of those complaints on the forums a couple weeks ago, and as far as I could tell, those who were complaining were either:

a) encountering the video and audio stuttering shortly before the upgrade, indicating the upgrade was unrelated.
b) reporting broadcasting problems that weren't the fault of their equipment at all
c) having hard drive failures completely unrelated to the upgrade (the timing was just coincidence)
d) having audio dropout problems when using the digital audio output of the tivo (which I don't use).

Now, the fact that someone you're working with personally has been having a problem, and you specifically have checked it out with him and you're sure it's none of the above, carried more weight with me than all the posts on the community forums combined. So I'm a bit worried.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235945 - 13/10/2006 17:10 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
I may go to my parent's house tonight. I will check out what's going on. I have my doubts that they got the upgrade.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235946 - 13/10/2006 18:36 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Thanks. It would be nice to know for sure.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235947 - 14/10/2006 00:18 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
So, when I got to my parent's their HR10-250 was "pending restart," so it wasn't running 6.3a yet. Of course, I forced a reboot and about 30 minutes later they were up and running with the new software.

I can't say it's much faster, but I was only really testing it for a few minutes after it was upgraded, so the system could have been thrashing the hard drive with other post-upgrade activity. I set it up to use grouping and then changed the channels for a bit. Everything seemed smooth, but if there's a problem I will probably hear about it on Monday.

Back off-topic, when I came home the HR20 wasn't responding to my Harmony 880 or the original remote. I had to reboot it to regain control. That never happened before and some people have been experiencing the same thing with the new software. Thankfully, it managed to record everything requested, so the reboot is just an annoyance. Never the less, that probably shouldn't happen this far into development.

On the other hand, it's probably difficult to test for such issues when you're putting out new software on a weekly basis. I like being on the bleeding edge, so I prefer the rapid releases. "Normal" users might be less happy about having one thing fixed only to break something else.

Brad, you can hide the channels you don't receive. That review must have been based on an old version that didn't allow that.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235948 - 14/10/2006 04:54 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Brad, you can hide the channels you don't receive.

Automatically? Or, like all other direcTV products, do you have to manually sift through the channels by hand and individually uncheck the ones you don't receive?

Thanks for the update on your dad's Tivo. Hopefully his stuttering problem wasn't indicative of impending disk drive doom or similar.

Looks like everyone's getting v6 but me.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235949 - 14/10/2006 13:45 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Registered: 30/10/2000
Posts: 4909
Loc: Orange County, NY USA
You have to manually tell it what you receive.
_________________________
-Rob Riccardelli
80GB 16MB MK2 090000736

Top
#235950 - 14/10/2006 21:15 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: robricc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 31267
Loc: Seattle, WA
Gah. I hate that. Wonder why, so many years along, they haven't ever made that feature available.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#235951 - 14/10/2006 23:20 Re: DirecTivo Series2 Hacking [Re: tfabris]
petteri
addict

Registered: 02/08/2004
Posts: 432
Loc: Miami, FL USA
Quote:
Gah. I hate that. Wonder why, so many years along, they haven't ever made that feature available.


I would guess its to remind you of the channels you could have if you only forked over the $$$. I tend to be a bit cynical though...

Top
Page 8 of 9 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 >