Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#267912 - 24/10/2005 14:55 Hey Guys - Trying to mount her.
rutherk1
new poster

Registered: 11/10/2005
Posts: 15
Greetings.

I am putting my Empeg into my New-er vehicle. In my old one, I made a little console out of wood that bolted to the floor that housed the Unit. My new truck has space for 1 double din or 2 single din units (04 f150). I have a metra double din to 2 single din mounting bracket with an Alpine head unit on the bottom. I want to put the Empeg on the top location. The Empeg cage is a little bulky and looks a little bigger than the cage (sled) for the Alpine. Anyone have any pics of a similar install?

Thaks for all your help!!!


Edited by rutherk1 (24/10/2005 14:56)

Top
#267913 - 24/10/2005 17:16 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Registered: 25/12/2000
Posts: 16706
Loc: Raleigh, NC US
If you used the sled for your Alpine, that is the cage with the tabs to bend back, rather than just the raw stereo screwed into something, the empeg's sled is the exact same size.
_________________________
Bitt Faulk

Top
#267914 - 24/10/2005 17:43 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
mcomb
pooh-bah

Registered: 31/08/1999
Posts: 1649
Loc: San Carlos, CA
The adapter you've got isn't made for pullout stereos. I've got the exact same adapter in my Mustang with an empeg and single DIN Pioneer navigation system. I had to take a dremel to one half of the adapter to enlarge the opening for the empeg. As far as I know there isn't an adaptor on the market that will do what you need without enlarging one of the openings. I can take some pictures of my setup this evening if you want.

-Mike
_________________________
EmpMenuX - ext3 filesystem - Empeg iTunes integration

Top
#267915 - 24/10/2005 18:11 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: mcomb]
rutherk1
new poster

Registered: 11/10/2005
Posts: 15
Thanks Mike

Please... If you dont mind posting some pics. That would be kick arse. I have the metra double din adapter with an alpine IVA-D300 on the bottom. Since the Alpine adaptor for the Ipod sucks, I am putting in the Empeg from my old truck and am checking out all options before I start cutting.

Thanks alot. I will check back for the pics!!

Also, if you let me know how you delt with the cage for the other DIN and the Empeg sled, that would be very helpfull. Right now I am not using the mounting cage for the alpine. Its held in there as if was the lower half of a double din. (Its screwed to the sides of the Metra mounting kit.

It seems like I should take out the center din separator and bolt the cages together.

Again... Thanks for the pics and help!

Keith


Edited by rutherk1 (24/10/2005 18:12)

Top
#267916 - 24/10/2005 22:08 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
mcomb
pooh-bah

Registered: 31/08/1999
Posts: 1649
Loc: San Carlos, CA
Quote:
Also, if you let me know how you delt with the cage for the other DIN and the Empeg sled, that would be very helpfull. Right now I am not using the mounting cage for the alpine. Its held in there as if was the lower half of a double din. (Its screwed to the sides of the Metra mounting kit.


Sounds like what I did. I didn't use the cage for my Pioneer unit either. I screwed it to the dash kit. To mount the empeg cage I enlarged the top hole in the kit and then used some of that double sided foam tape (like 1/16 inch thick) to attach the empeg's cage to the top of the Pioneer. I also used the tabs on the empeg's cage, but there isn't much material for them to press against so I think the tape is doing most of the work. It also keeps the stereos from rattling against each other.

Quote:
It seems like I should take out the center din separator and bolt the cages together.


I left it in as it is about the same thickness as the tape I used and I need a little clearance between the units for the LCD screen in the Pioneer to be able to slide out. If you can find a way to bolt the two stereos together I don't see why you couldn't remove that separator. It would decrease the amount of material you need to remove to accommodate the empeg.

Quote:
Thanks for the pics and help!


No problem, I'll be home in an hour or so and get some pics for you.

-Mike
_________________________
EmpMenuX - ext3 filesystem - Empeg iTunes integration

Top
#267917 - 24/10/2005 23:27 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#267918 - 25/10/2005 00:06 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
FireFox31
pooh-bah

Registered: 19/09/2002
Posts: 2494
Loc: East Coast, USA
Sphengali had a 1995 Ford Explorer with an Alpine and an empeg, but his install is likely a bit different. A shame his site is blocked and archive.org didn't capture all of his great pictures. I thought most Ford and GM trucks had a 1.5 DIN or something slightly less than 2 DIN.

I have a double din space in my Volvo and it has a center DIN separator. My alpine fits below and empeg fits above just nicely. The separator holds everything in place very well. Maybe there's an alternative to cutting that out.
_________________________
-
FireFox31
110gig MKIIa (30+80), Eutronix lights, 32 meg stacked RAM, Filener orange gel lens, Greenlights Lit Buttons green set

Top
#267919 - 25/10/2005 00:33 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: FireFox31]
rutherk1
new poster

Registered: 11/10/2005
Posts: 15
Thanks for all the help guys. As for the F150, the new fords are double din. (actually a little bit larger) the old ones were 1.5 din.

Im looking forward to seeing the pics!

Thanks again!

Keith

Top
#267920 - 25/10/2005 01:00 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: rutherk1]
mcomb
pooh-bah

Registered: 31/08/1999
Posts: 1649
Loc: San Carlos, CA
OK, here you go. This should give you an idea I hope. Sorry I didn't take any pics during the install. As you can see I didn't do that great of a job enlarging the opening, but the empeg facia is large enough that it overhangs all the edges and covers it up.

DSC_2480.jpg
DSC_2484.jpg
DSC_2486.jpg
DSC_2487.jpg
DSC_2489.jpg

Hope that helps,
-Mike
_________________________
EmpMenuX - ext3 filesystem - Empeg iTunes integration

Top
#267921 - 25/10/2005 11:28 Re: Hey Guys - Trying to mount her. [Re: mcomb]
rutherk1
new poster

Registered: 11/10/2005
Posts: 15
Thanks a ton Mike. Thats a big help. I am going to install mine this week. Ill post pics.

Again... Thanks for going out of your way to help out a stranger.

Keith

Top