Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#285545 - 16/08/2006 01:48 Dreamhost - can't recommend it
hybrid8
carpal tunnel

Loc: Toronto, CANADA
I have to take back any recommendation I've ever made for Dreamhost. Sorry.

I've been battling with email outages for the past two months and when you think everything is fine, there goes another 10-48 hours or intermittent access or complete inability to either check POP3 mail or use SMTP servers (sometimes just one and not the other).

Dreamhosts's prices are unfortunately too good to be true. If you don't mind outages like this, then they probably can't be beat. But I think I may just have to bite the bullet and look elsewhere soon.

#285546 - 16/08/2006 06:25 Re: Dreamhost - can't recommend it [Re: hybrid8]
matthew_k
pooh-bah

Loc: Berkeley, California
I don't know, any company that explains their outages in such form as this blog post: http://blog.dreamhost.com/2006/08/01/anatomy-of-an-ongoing-disaster
gets some sort of pass from me. I'm not using them for any sort of mission critical hosting at the moment, but their candor is certainly disarming.

Matthew

#285547 - 16/08/2006 12:14 Re: Dreamhost - can't recommend it [Re: hybrid8]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA
Personally, I really like the hosting I'm getting with them. Granted, my company doesn't have a website with them like yours does (is that where yours is?), but even for my needs I've had a good experience with them so far. I have about 7 domains hosted with them.

I have a feeling you'd have to jump to a far higher price level to get 99.9999% uptime. Frankly, I'll never have that need. 95% is good enough for me

Quote:
I'm not using them for any sort of mission critical hosting at the moment, but their candor is certainly disarming.