Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#308802 - 02/04/2008 01:40 Soldering iron recommendations
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
I'm in need of a new soldering iron. But I'm not really a soldering expert, so I don't quite know what I'm talking about. After a week or so of searching, I've come to some conclusions, but I'd like some feedback from someone who actually knows what they're talking about.

Here are the models that have reached my short list:

Hakko 936ESD
Hakko seems to be a reputable brand with a good reputation, so it should last a decent amount of time and might have parts available into the future. It's a 60W iron with a ceramic heater that has a 392°F - 896°F (200°C - 480°C) temperature range. I can get this iron for $95.

Hakko 937
This seems to be the same iron as the 936, but it has a digital readout. Neat, but as it goes for about $211, I don't think it's that neat.

Edsyn 951SX
Edsyn seems also to be a well-respected reputable brand. It's a 95W iron with a ceramic heater and a 400°F - 800°F (205°C - 427°C) temperature range. I can find this one for $115.

Xytronic 137ESD
This seems to be a Taiwanese knockoff of the Hakko 937, albeit a well-reviewed knockoff. It has the same ceramic heating element and can supposedly take the same tips. It's also 60W and has a temperature range of 392°F - 896°F (200°C - 480°C). I can find this for about $80. They also make a knockoff of the Hakko 936, but it seems to sell for more, so why not get the cool digital readout?

Xytronic 379