Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#345395 - 28/05/2011 15:17 3TB drives on linux software raid array
TigerJimmy
old hand

Hey everyone,

I've been running a debian etch system for several years now with 3x1TB drives in a software RAID5 array. I bought three 3TB drives to replace the existing drives, and I think I've run into the "2.1TB barrier" based on some googling. I see this in the boot messages:

Quote:
sdb : very big device. try to use READ CAPACITY(16).
sdb : unsupported sector size -1548812288.
SCSI device sdb: 0 512-byte hdwr sectors (0 MB)
sdb: Write Protect is off
sdb: Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
SCSI device sdb: drive cache: write back

Do you guys know what I need to do to use these drives? They are recognized correctly (it seems) by my SATA controller card, but I have noticed that I can't boot the system when all drives are connected to this card (even just the 1TB drives). It seems my motherboard is not supporting boot to this controller card very well and requires a disk plugged in to the motherboard. My plan is to leave a 1TB drive as a boot/operating system device connected to the motherboard and would like to have the 3TB drives each with a single RAID partition in a 3-disk array. Then I can just copy the boot disk to the other two old 1TB drives for physical backup rather than dicking around with RAID1 for the OS.

Is a kernel upgrade sufficient? Some googling leads me to believe that a different partition manager is required. Would it be easier to just upgrade the entire system? Will the latest version of debian support the big drives? Is there a different distro you would recommend?