Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#348617 - 30/10/2011 19:43 Andriod APP for Senior Capstone
sirkingchase
new poster

Loc: MS,US
For my Senior Capstone in college for Computer Science I am thinking about designing and developing an application for Android or iPhone that will read and write to the empeg database. Rearrange songs, write new songs, etc.

Think about it. Have a router in the car and you want to add a song to the EMPEG while in the car!

I have tried to compile the FIB for linux commandline tool on the iphone and it lacks a bunch of dependencies that I can not get around. I think that jEmplode is open source so maybe I can look into how to start this.

I have no experience with developing apps for andriod,I have only coded for the University, and my the only language I have every coded in is C++. I have about 8 months to develop this.

I really really want to do this for my Senior Project please tell me if I am in over my head.

#348619 - 30/10/2011 21:00 Re: Andriod APP for Senior Capstone [Re: sirkingchase]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
Originally Posted By: sirkingchase
...please tell me if I am in over my head.
Below is a quote that Rob Voisy, one of the original developers on the empeg team, made here on the bbs about 5 years ago:

I now have a pretty good idea how much work it would be to get to a similar level of functionality - about four man years, without tuner functionality but with some other things not in empeg.

That is with a team of experienced, professional developers. Over your head? You decide.

tanstaafl.

#348620 - 30/10/2011 22:10 Re: Andriod APP for Senior Capstone [Re: tanstaafl.]
drakino
carpal tunnel