Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#54188 - 03/01/2002 09:35 Total Newbie, Don't wanna Kill my Empeg!
booey

I am a total newbie to Linux, and my new Empeg MarkII, so please bear with me guys! Thanks..
I really like the features of this new kernel, especially the saved visual settings.
Is it really as simple as using the logo editor on my windows machine to upload the kernel to the player, and suddenly i have all these new features?? is that it? I just wanna be sure. i would be so pissed if i killed my Empeg 2 days after i got it by trying to hack it!! Thanks for all the help guys!! This forum is really great.
Brian

#54189 - 03/01/2002 09:42 Re: Total Newbie, Don't wanna Kill my Empeg! [Re: booey]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
The hijack kernel has no chance of "killing" your Empeg. As stated in the RioCar.org FAQ, the absolute WORST thing that could happen from a kernel installation is that you would need to re-apply an Empeg upgrade file. Because everything important (the boot loader) is in non-erasable memory, you simply cannot, no matter how hard you try :) make your Empeg unbootable.

So proceed with reckless abandon with your plans to load the kernel via Tony's Logo Editor. It should work just fine.

#54190 - 03/01/2002 09:58 Re: Total Newbie, Don't wanna Kill my Empeg! [Re: tonyc]
booey

Thanks a lot for the help.
So, do most people here install the hacked kernel you think?
You dont lose any features at all right? only gain new features i assume..

#54191 - 03/01/2002 10:05 Re: Total Newbie, Don't wanna Kill my Empeg! [Re: booey]
tonyc
carpal tunnel

I wouldn't say "most people" install it, but I'd say at least 30% or more do. Certainly a large portion of the membership of this BBS. Most who don't install it probably think it's too risk or too much work. Neither of which is true. Some probably just don't think the features are important enough.