Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#86745 - 11/04/2002 12:14 Electronic Drum Kits
tonyc
carpal tunnel

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA
Allright... I'm going to admit it. I'm a wanna-be drummer. Whether I'm at work, in class, or at home, I'm always tapping out rhythms on my desk, my keyboard, or whatever is available. I would love to start getting somewhat serious about it but my problem is I live in an apartment, and while I have no immediate neighbors, I couldn't be playing on a real drum kit without seriously disturbing everyone in my building.

So I was getting my mind thinking about electronic drum kits. I have MIDI capabilities on my PC, and I've seen electronic drums which actually have a trap-set arrangement with bass and hi-hat pedals, etc. Of course it won't be a natural drum feel, but it's probably as close as I can get without getting evicted.

Anyway I have done some net searches but couldn't find any good unbiased reviews. Since I'm just getting started I'd be looking on the cheap, probably at $1500 max. I stumbled upon some in the $600 range but they looked kinda flimsy. I want something that can take a bit of a beating.

So, if anyone out there has any experience and can recommend brands, models, etc. or even just some good sites which review them, that'd be cool. Any online stores that sell electronic kits would be cool too.

#86746 - 11/04/2002 12:24 Re: Electronic Drum Kits [Re: tonyc]
visuvius
addict

Well, i have no clue where you live so i don't know if there is a Sam Ash around you, but they have good stuff and people who know what they're talking about. http://www.samash.com, they have 6 electronic drum sets listed on their website ranging in price from 1000 - 5000. Check it out.

#86747 - 11/04/2002 12:31 Re: Electronic Drum Kits [Re: tonyc]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA