Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#48541 - 30/11/2001 07:32 Newbie questions
alfaguy
new poster

I just ordered an Empeg player and am pretty excited about it. I'm new to the world of MP3 Files and have a few questions. I apologize if some of these have been asked and answered previously, if so just send me the pertinent link to a faq, or earlier message thread.

1) What are some reccomendations for software to use for ripping CD's and converting them to MP3 files? Is some software faster than others? I don't really feel like spending days sitting in front of my computer ripping CD's.

2) Any suggestions on setting up the directory structure and organizing the files. In other words, what have been some common errors that have been made or if you had to do it all over again what would you do differently?

3) I know that there are different compression rates for the MP3 file format that result in different levels of quality. What is the best rate to use for the best size vs quality compromise? What is most commonly used?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff

#48542 - 30/11/2001 07:53 Re: Newbie questions [Re: alfaguy]
Dearing
addict

Loc: Florida

#48543 - 30/11/2001 09:36 Re: Newbie questions [Re: alfaguy]
thinfourth2
Pooh-Bah

Loc: The land of the pale blue peop...
I will stick my neck out and say that music match is not too bad i does for me If you want a better quality one you can play with different ones later Music match is quite fast and does most things for you.

Set it up properly first

I have it one 160Kbps and i have the way it set up to record tracks with track number and track name ticked in the tracks directory panal in the recorder options.

One tip that isn't well advertised is you can drag and drop entire directorys into emplode.