Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#24662 - 12/01/2001 16:43 WAY off topic: Water in gas?
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
Okay, I know I'm way WAY off topic, but as always, this BBS's clientele represents a wide cross-section of expertise, so I'm taking a stab at it.

I have a new car, a 2000 Honda Accord. Earlier this week, I purchased gas and forgot to close the gas cap. It was left parked out overnight with no gas cap on. During a pretty harsh rainstorm.

It seems to run fine, but what are the odds I am ruining my engine because some water got into the gas? What, if anything, should I do?

#24663 - 12/01/2001 17:05 Re: WAY off topic: Water in gas? [Re: tfabris]
jstrain
enthusiast

Loc: philadelphia pa
i'm no expert, but i think it should be ok. unless it was an incredible amount of water that got into the tank (does the tank have one of those spring loaded disks to close the neck off?), i would think any water in the gas would simply burn off in the combustion chamber. maybe you will see some white smoke in your exhaust. again though, i'm not an expert.

jeremy

12 gig, green...

#24664 - 12/01/2001 17:08 Re: WAY off topic: Water in gas? [Re: jstrain]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

(does the tank have one of those spring loaded disks to close the neck off?)

No, it does not, I'm afraid. Actually it surprised me when I discovered this.

#24665 - 12/01/2001 17:13 Re: WAY off topic: Water in gas? [Re: tfabris]
beaker
addict

Loc: England