Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#324519 - 23/07/2009 18:22 Lotus Notes to OWA - Am I in Hell?
Redrum
old hand

My company has just moved me from Lotus Notes to OWA (Office Outlook Web Access).

Since I am a CLP (Certified Lotus Professional) I am a bit biased but trying to keep an open mind.

One thing our company did was drastically reduce the number of days an email can stay in your mailbox.

Is there a way I can archive off my mail to my local hard drive (please be aware OWA is setup by our company for web access only and I am just a user)?

I am new to OWA but maybe a desktop client of some sort could be installed or maybe there is some other way to transfer these emails locally

Thanks

#324521 - 23/07/2009 18:31 Re: Lotus Notes to OWA - Am I in Hell? [Re: Redrum]
peter
carpal tunnel

Loc: Cambridge, England
Evolution can talk to OWA (in fact until recently it couldn't talk to Exchange any other way), and also supports local mail folders.

Peter

#324522 - 23/07/2009 18:40 Re: Lotus Notes to OWA - Am I in Hell? [Re: peter]
drakino
carpal tunnel

I've had luck with fetchExc. Basically works similar to fetchmail to download mail off an Exchange server via OWA.

#324523 - 23/07/2009 18:48 Re: Lotus Notes to OWA - Am I in Hell? [Re: Redrum]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I can't understand a company that moves from Notes to Exchange.

The only way I can see it working is if they only ever used Notes for Email/Calendar. In that case, I could see a migration working.

But when I used Notes, we did so much more than Email. I co-wrote an entire version control system in Notes. Put that in your Outlook and smoke it, Microsoft. frown

#324525 - 23/07/2009 19:09 Re: Lotus Notes to OWA - Am I in Hell? [Re: tfabris]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Frying pan/fire. Rock/hard place.