Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#351203 - 29/03/2012 22:51 RIM Deathwatch
hybrid8
carpal tunnel

Loc: Toronto, CANADA
It seems with the recently quarterly announcements that a lot of people are catching on to hat I've been saying for almost 2 years. That RIM is on the way out. And I don't mean out of fashion, I mean out of existence.

I hypothesized they had no more than about 5 years left. That means just about 3 now. They haven't shown any signs that they're doing anything to curb their self-destructive behavior. It's just been the same old same old, at least from the perspective of an outsider.

So long RIM. You've lasted a long time for a one-trick pony.

#351211 - 30/03/2012 12:43 Re: RIM Deathwatch [Re: hybrid8]
DWallach
carpal tunnel

Maybe they can switch to running Windows Phone 7. It's worked so well for Nokia.

#351212 - 30/03/2012 13:49 Re: RIM Deathwatch [Re: DWallach]
hybrid8
carpal tunnel

Nokia haven't made a real commitment and continue to completely screw up their positioning and message.

I still see a lot of BlackBerry devices being used here in Canada. In fact when I'm out I have only ever seen iPhones or BlackBerries. I have never (not ever) seen an Android device in the wild that wasn't behind glass or on a shelf in a kiosk/store. The other brands battle it out for candy bar and flip phones.

My brother has 3 friends with Android devices and frankly, apart from reading of owners on the net, those are the only people I've ever heard of that have them. Everyone I know personally has either a BlackBerry or iPhone.

It's not that I don't think a company can make it in this market with the competition as it stands, it's just that I don't believe RIM can do it. I can easily see a BlackBerry device gaining market share (a device completely different than what's out there now), but not in RIM's hands.