Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#88482 - 17/04/2002 06:45 Support for Monkey's Audio files? Possible?
Flawed
stranger

I have no experience as a programmer, but I was curious if it would be feasible to add in support for Monkey's Audio files. For those that may not be aware of the format, it's a lossless compression format that is designed for music and gives you files that are 50%-60% of teh original size. Compressing entire albums takes only a few minutes too.

The source code has recently been made available too. Info can be found at... you guessed it!
www.monkeysaudio.com

So, anybody up to the task? Sure would be nice to have all my files archived in a lossless format even at the cost of losing some of the music I currently carry.

#88483 - 17/04/2002 07:55 Re: Support for Monkey's Audio files? Possible? [Re: Flawed]
SE_Sport_Driver
carpal tunnel

Loc: Detroit, MI USA
From what I understand, the only way this can be done is via new player software. Only the empeg team at SonicBlue has access to this. You'd have to generate a lot of interest here in order for them to consider it worth while (they have a lot of projects right now under developement). Recently, it seems that Ogg Vorbis support is coming very soon.

#88484 - 17/04/2002 09:29 Re: Support for Monkey's Audio files? Possible? [Re: SE_Sport_Driver]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
Actually, this could be done in Hijack as well, by having Hijack (kernel) do transparent decompression, transforming the file into a .wav before feeding it to the player.

Hijack would also have to trick the database rebuild into thinking that the codec tag was "wav" instead of "monkey".