Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#15187 - 23/08/2000 21:41 Downloading files from player
dglinder
new poster

Loc: Massachusetts, USA
I've had my player for a week and I love it. I have a few minor quibbles and suggestions, but my one major gripe is that I can't download files back to my computer from the player.

I saw this question addressed by Empeg somewhere - I can't remember where - and it was just dismissed by referring to vague "legal" reasons. I'm not a lawyer, but it I can't imagine what legal reasons those might be. The player is just a removable mass storage device, like any other. The makers of removable hard drives, Jazz drives, CD-R burners, and so on don't place any restrictions on their products, and it's just as easy to use one of those for transferring MP3 files. There's no legal reason you can't copy your (legally owned) MP3 files to nay one of the many other removable mass-storage devices on the market - why does Empeg think the player is any different? What's the difference between the player and any other such device? You don't see them putting artificial limitations on their products.

The "legal" argument just doesn't cut it. I'm rather annoyed by this - I paid quite a lot of money for the player, and it has an extremely useful potential function that I could make great use of. It irritates me that for no valid technical reason, I'm prevented from using a huge portion of the functionality. I'm not a (very good) programmer, but it seems that enabling downloads from the player would be less than trivial.