Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#173891 - 05/08/2003 15:35 UK radar detectors
andym
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manchester UK
Okay, I have my new car waiting for me to pick up in september. I am now paranoid about getting done for speeding. I got 3 points back in 1998 which have just come off and i'm worried another load will go back on. I am a careful driver and the only time I knowingly exceed the speed limit is on the motorway, when I will do up to 80 (usually just keeping up with traffic). It would just kill me to no longer be able to afford to insure a car I've literally spent years waiting to get.

To that end, can anyone recommend a good radar detector for use in UK. I've been looking at the Snooper and Beltronics range and found wildly ranging reviews.

It's a Mk2 Renaultsport Clio 172 BTW.

Andy M

#173892 - 05/08/2003 16:22 Re: UK radar detectors [Re: andym]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
Just watch out that they don't import those (relatively) new blasted radar-detector detector devices from Australia -- nothing is immune to them so far (despite bogus claims to the contrary), and they're showing up around here (Ontario, Canada) in increasing numbers.

Cheers

#173893 - 05/08/2003 16:33 Re: UK radar detectors [Re: andym]
g_attrill
old hand

Loc: Hants, UK
Radar detectors are legal in the UK. Even better is to combine one with a GPS device (eg. Geodesy) which has a list of fixed speed cameras and mobile camera routes.

Some police forces have spoken out in favour of the GPS devices because they warn you of supposed accident black spots.

Other forces, such as Northampton have a funny idea of accident black spots - the brand new Silverstone bypass has brand new speed cameras installed. What I want to know is was the blackspot designed into the road or was Mystic Meg brought in to predict massive road deaths occuring there?