Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#193842 - 17/12/2003 01:21 Just received my MKIIA
kendrick

How's it going everyone, just received a MKIIA today. I have been doing the car computer for about 4 years, then after all that time i realized that having all that stuff in my car was pointless and all i really wanted was hard drive mp3 playback. One thing i've noticed that i didn't like about the rio is how easy it is for it to get stolen. The thing slides right out.

Are there any mods to make it more secure, and if i take it out everytime i get out of the car will this damage the unit after a while?

#193843 - 17/12/2003 03:06 Re: Just received my MKIIA [Re: kendrick]
andym
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manchester UK
You won't damage it by repeated removals. That's what it's designed to do. Paul Grzelak keeps his behind a panel at the bottom of his dashboard. Have a look at his site

Andy M

#193844 - 17/12/2003 08:11 Re: Just received my MKIIA [Re: kendrick]
robricc
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
One thing i've noticed that i didn't like about the rio is how easy it is for it to get stolen. The thing slides right out.
That feature is actually what makes it not get stolen. You take it with you.

#193845 - 17/12/2003 08:13 Re: Just received my MKIIA [Re: robricc]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

There is a laptop security slot on the back of the player. You might be able to rig something so that it is locked in place while docked. But the best defense is to take it with you.

#193846 - 17/12/2003 11:52 Re: Just received my MKIIA [Re: kendrick]
genixia
Carpal Tunnel

As Paul has mentioned, you could do something with the security slot, but that might just mean that the empeg gets trashed as someone tries to lever it out with a crowbar.

There are another couple of options;