Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#217705 - 03/06/2004 23:00 Install problem
warsaw
stranger

Loc: Colorado
I had a car audio shop move my Rio and amp from my old car to my new WRX wagon. The problem is that now, unless the volume is set very quiet, the audio cuts out every few seconds.

The first thing they tried to do is sell me a new head unit (with free installation!), which annoyed me quite a bit. I was able to prove to them that the head unit wasn't the problem by putting it on AC power and plugging it directly into the amp. It sounded great and there were no problems. When I got home I also put my spare head unit into the car and had the same problems with it cutting out. So I assume the problem lies somewhere between the sled and the amp,

I couldn't stick around to pursue it with them, so I'll be going back tomorrow. I'm no expert, so could somebody give me some ideas as to what the problem could be and what I should be insisting that they check?

Many thanks in advance,
Bill

#217706 - 04/06/2004 04:52 Re: Install problem [Re: warsaw]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Loc: New Jersey, USA
You might want to check for a loose signal wire on the sled connector. The older sleds had problems where the wires could be pulled out.

You might want to try your AC experiment again, but plug the RCA jacks in at the point where your sled connects to the wiring going to your amp. This would eliminate the wire run as a source of the problem, and you would then know it was in the sled.

#217707 - 04/06/2004 10:45 Re: Install problem [Re: warsaw]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
It could also be the amplifier itself, or the power wiring that runs to the amplifier.