Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#220635 - 19/01/2002 16:59 displayserver on Receiver
bamboo
new poster

Registered: 25/10/1999
Posts: 31
I have heard that you can put DisplayServer on the Receiver so that you can control the receiver from a PC.

I even found the binaries on Frank's website but I have no clue how to update my Receiver with it. Anyone know how this works?

Thanks.

John

Top
#220636 - 20/01/2002 04:33 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: bamboo]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5709
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
I think you might have been confusing the Receiver with the HSX. Tony Fabris managed to get DisplayServer running on an early version of the HSX kernel.

I have not heard on anyone running DisplayServer on the Receiver, it only has 4Mb of RAM so I think it would struggle somewhat.

The way to get DisplayServer up and running on the Receiver (if you still want to try) would be to un-tar the receiver.arf file from the Audio Receiver folder on a Unix box (can't do it on a Windows box without breaking vitial bits in the tar file) and add the display server files to it. You would also have to replace the init binary with a script that ran display server and then ran the player app. Once you had done that you would tar the files back up again and put the file back on the windows box where you found it.

You would also have to patch a kernel with the irhack that is needed by DS to control the player.

Even if you did all this then it may not work, the Receiver is much more different than the HSX is from empeg, so it may not work anyway.

I am not about to attempt this, because even if I managed it I don't think it would be a good idea.

I am however attempting to build a custom kernel, to which I intend to add some of the same functionality that mlord's HiJack provides for the empeg/RioCar. If I manage this it would let you control the Receiver via a web browser from anywhere.

Unfortunately at the moment I can't get the stock kernel to compile. Has anyone here managed to build the Receiver kernel ?
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#220637 - 20/01/2002 10:50 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: andy]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30901
Loc: Seattle, WA
I think you might have been confusing the Receiver with the HSX.

No, he isn't confused. Frank did indeed get a version of displayserver working on the receiver. The thread where he reports his success (and I think has some instructions for doing it) is here.

Tony Fabris managed to get DisplayServer running on an early version of the HSX kernel.

Negative. I did not even ever attempt to do so. I stated that it would be feasibly possible to port displayserver to the HSX, but never tried it myself.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220638 - 20/01/2002 11:12 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: tfabris]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5709
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
Oops, sorry about that, looks like I couldn't have been much more wrong...
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#220639 - 20/01/2002 17:21 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: tfabris]
bamboo
new poster

Registered: 25/10/1999
Posts: 31
Tony,

I found the arf file on Frank's site. I just don't know how to get it to the Receiver.

Any pointers?

John

Top
#220640 - 20/01/2002 18:20 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: bamboo]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30901
Loc: Seattle, WA
Here's a hint. The Receiver grabs its firmware from the SERVER each time power is applied.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220641 - 21/01/2002 08:51 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: tfabris]
bamboo
new poster

Registered: 25/10/1999
Posts: 31
Got it!

Thanks.

John

Top
#220642 - 21/01/2002 20:23 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: bamboo]
bamboo
new poster

Registered: 25/10/1999
Posts: 31
Tony,

Have you got the displayserver working? I adding the diff file from Frank's website to the receiver.arf file and every looks just fine. But when I reconnect the Receiver it finds the music server but then locks up and never gets to the main menu. I know the new arf file is 4,167,680 bytes. Is it too big for the memory (should be less than 4MB)?

I just can't get it to run properly. Just curious if you were able to do it.

Thanks.

John

Top
#220643 - 21/01/2002 20:26 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: bamboo]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30901
Loc: Seattle, WA
I never tried getting displayserver to work on the Receiver, I only noted that Frank had gotten it to work.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#220644 - 22/01/2002 06:25 Re: displayserver on Receiver [Re: bamboo]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5555
Loc: London, UK
The arf file is opened on the PC, not the receiver. It's then NFS-mounted (read-only). The size shouldn't matter.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#220645 - 24/01/2002 06:34 Differences in units? [Re: tfabris]
dschuetz
new poster

Registered: 08/05/2002
Posts: 42
I've been playing around a bit with display server (way cool, btw), and recently received two new units from TigerDirect. The weird thing is that displayserver works great on one of 'em, but not at all on the other. I can connect, I can download the .jpg, but I can't complete downloading and launching the applet.

Even stranger, the unit that *doesn't* work appears to be newer:

PN (works): 90260096-001
PN (doesn't): 90260096-003

It also works just fine on my Dell unit.

Which brings up another question -- I never installed the new Rio software that came with the Tiger units, so I'm still using 1.0.1 on all three receivers -- could that be part of it? What're the differences between 1.0.1 and 1.0.3 (or whatever the current Rio version is?)

Top
#220646 - 27/01/2002 11:50 Re: Differences in units? [Re: dschuetz]
bamboo
new poster

Registered: 25/10/1999
Posts: 31
I am on 1.03 and can't seem to get the displayserver to work. I patch the receiver.arf but when i turn on the receiver it finds the server but never loads up.

On the receiver.arf that works with displayserver, what is the exact file size? Maybe they changed the software and the displayserver won't read it anymore.

John

Top
#220647 - 27/01/2002 14:02 Re: Differences in units? [Re: bamboo]
mardibloke
addict

Registered: 14/08/2000
Posts: 468
Loc: Penarth, UK

What's all this about v1.03, I thought the only software around for the Receivers was 1.01b, or the slightly modified code for the Hotel install in Ibiza ?
_________________________
- --
Rod, UK

Top
#220648 - 28/01/2002 00:11 Re: Differences in units? [Re: mardibloke]
andy
carpal tunnel

Registered: 10/06/1999
Posts: 5709
Loc: Wivenhoe, Essex, UK
My Receiver (that was bought direct from SB just before Christmas) came with a CD with source code tar files labelled 1.02 and 1.03
_________________________
Remind me to change my signature to something more interesting someday

Top
#220649 - 28/01/2002 04:31 Re: Differences in units? [Re: mardibloke]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5555
Loc: London, UK
v1.01b went out to Dell, v1.03 went out to Rio, since they launched a little later. There's no appreciable difference.

The hotel in Ibiza has a modified version of v1.03
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#220650 - 28/01/2002 06:41 Re: Differences in units? [Re: Roger]
mardibloke
addict

Registered: 14/08/2000
Posts: 468
Loc: Penarth, UK
Ta.

FAQ entry Tony ?


Edited by mardibloke (28/01/2002 06:43)
_________________________
- --
Rod, UK

Top