Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#222531 - 02/01/2003 17:50 Format of Playlist Files
trpfeifer
stranger

Loc: Colorado
I have looked all over this site and others. Tried both the default RIO software and the RRR 0.7.9 software and I cannot get playlists to work. When the music search completes it finds 4 playlists but in the menu on the RIO it displays "no matches" . My playlist files are M3U created using MusicMatch. Ideas?!

#222532 - 19/10/2003 21:15 Re: Format of Playlist Files [Re: trpfeifer]
Alan_A
stranger

Loc: San Jose, CA
Did you ever figure this out? I am new to this as well and have the same problem. I assume it's because the playlist from Musicmatch contains absolute paths. Not sure how to fix it (short of manual editing), or what the base or root directory for the playlist should be.

#222533 - 20/10/2003 05:31 Re: Format of Playlist Files [Re: Alan_A]
markb
new poster

I had this problem too, but it was easy to fix. It maybe because you are creating playlists on a different PC? If you open the .M3U file in notepad or Wordpad, you will be able to see the .mp3 files it contains and their directory. This must be the same directory as that which the Rio uses to retrieve its music. Does that make sense?

#222534 - 20/10/2003 12:30 Re: Format of Playlist Files [Re: markb]
Alan_A
stranger

Mark,

Thanks. It makes total sense and I had basically come to that conclusion.

I haven’t seen it mentioned anywhere and perhaps something should be added to the FAQ about this.

There are two problems. First, what is the top level or root directory that ARM (or other servers) use? It’s certainly not clear but I will assume that for every directory you specify when the scan is made each of those becomes a top level directory for the purposes of the playlist. At least that explains it for the one directory I use.