Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#272397 - 17/12/2005 23:21 Patent incentives
rob
carpal tunnel

Loc: Cambridge UK
To the engineers out there..

Does your company pay an incentive for filing patents? If so, how much, and on what terms?

Rob

#272398 - 18/12/2005 01:19 Re: Patent incentives [Re: rob]
mlord
carpal tunnel

Loc: Canada
A company I used to be a manager for, paid something like US$1000 for each successful patent granted -- the company retained all rights and authorship for the patent. I left that same company when they began to *require* that people like me file for software patents.

Cheers

#272399 - 18/12/2005 02:51 Re: Patent incentives [Re: rob]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manteca, California
Nope, no cash, nothing except your name on the bit of paper, but them who have successfully obtained patents, ones that then generate license fees, tend to be be favored for a while.

#272400 - 18/12/2005 06:23 Re: Patent incentives [Re: rob]
TigerJimmy
old hand

I used to work for a company that did this, it was $500 in 1991. I think its a really bad idea, actually. There was a ton of effort spent by engineers trying to get patents on useless stuff so the engineers could have another plaque on the wall and $500. I swear some of them made it their primary career focus. That is not valuable to the company and is a colossal waste of engineering time.

In my opinion, the decison to patent is a strategic business decision and not an engineering decision. Engineers should not be incented to obtain patents. Marketing, legal and strategic management issues determine whether something should be patented. Patents are an extremely poor measure of an engineer's contribution.