Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#279411 - 12/04/2006 16:52 Portable Sirius radio?
julf
veteran

Loc: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
My brother-in-law is up for a major anniversary. He runs a carpenter/bulding construction company, so spends a lot of time eiher in his van or at sites. He is also a big Howard Stern fan.

So based on that, the perfect gift would be a portable Sirius box. But I have no experience whatsoever of Sirius, so do you have any recommendations/warnings/advice? Which unit would be the best?

#279412 - 12/04/2006 17:21 Re: Portable Sirius radio? [Re: julf]
petteri
addict

Loc: Helsinki, Finland
I'm a Sirius subscriber, I've got two Sirius tuners. One is an old model that is no longer for sale, the Brix Streamer, works fine for me. The other is the new S50. So I can't comment from experience about the radios that I'm going to recommend. The S50 is too buggy in my opinion to recommend as a gift unless your brother-in-law is tech savvy and doesn't mind a product that is ending its production run early...

The newer one is the S50 portable unit. Now when Sirius says it is portable, that means the the unit will playback stored Sirius content, MP3, and WMA files, but NOT LIVE reception. For that you will need XM or wait unitl later this summer/fall when Sirius releases a "true" portable. The S50 has been slightly unstable, although a new firmware has patched most of the problems with the unit. For more on this take a look at the S50 fourm over at Siriusbackstage.com. That's a great site for anything Sirius related.

If your brother-in-law needs a boombox type of setup I think the best bet would be the Sportster Replay or its twin the Brix Streamer Replay. You will need to order the boombox seprately from the tuner itself.