Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | Software | RioCar.Org | Hijack | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs | Addons: Eutronix | Cases

Topic Options
#288281 - 18/10/2006 00:25 Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager?
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA
I have two CD-ROM drives. One is the real thing, the other one is a virtual drive created with Daemon tools.

When I open Rio Music Manager, it shows the latter. How do I get it to show the former?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288282 - 18/10/2006 13:32 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
RobotCaleb
pooh-bah

Registered: 15/01/2002
Posts: 1866
Loc: Austin
Is the latter a lower ( closer to A ) drive letter?

Top
#288283 - 18/10/2006 14:01 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Registered: 19/01/2002
Posts: 3433
Loc: Guadalajara, MX
Temporarily disable the virtual drive?
_________________________
~ John

Top
#288284 - 18/10/2006 14:35 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: RobotCaleb]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Is the latter a lower ( closer to A ) drive letter?

No, quite the opposite, in fact. I made sure to put the virtual drive at Y:. The real drive is at K.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288285 - 18/10/2006 14:38 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: JBjorgen]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Temporarily disable the virtual drive?

I'm certain that would work. Also, as l0ser implies, changing the order of the drive letters might work, too. But neither work-around would answer my question, which still stands: How do I fix Rio Music Manager?

In fact, let's assume for a moment that I'm a user with two perfectly valid hardware CD-ROM drives, and I want to use both of them. How would I fix Rio Music Manager to show both, or at least to show the one I wanted to use at any given moment?
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288286 - 18/10/2006 15:12 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5554
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
How do I fix Rio Music Manager?


Well, first you rewrite the CD-ripping code contained in it to not use RecDev, which is where there's a certain amount of nastiness involved in enumerating CD drives, and of matching their ASPI SCSI LUNs back to a drive letter.

Then, when you've done that, you should be good to go.

In short, you're probably SOL.
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#288287 - 18/10/2006 16:10 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: Roger]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA


Okie dokie.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288288 - 18/10/2006 23:55 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
rubennyc
member

Registered: 27/01/2006
Posts: 141
Loc: New Jersey, USA
I have 2 perfectly working drives (1 DVD-ROM, 1 DVD-R) and both seem to work just fine in RMM (2.96). They show up as drives E: and F:.

Must be something else going on.


Edited by rubennyc (18/10/2006 23:57)
_________________________


Top
#288289 - 19/10/2006 00:21 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: rubennyc]
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 23/09/2000
Posts: 3608
Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Yeah that's what I thought too I remember two showing up when I had two cd drives a while ago.
_________________________

Matt

Top
#288290 - 19/10/2006 05:10 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: msaeger]
Roger
carpal tunnel

Registered: 18/01/2000
Posts: 5554
Loc: London, UK
Quote:
I remember two showing up when I had two cd drives a while ago.


Oh, it definitely works, mostly. I even tested it with 3 drives at one point. Must be something screwy with Tony's configuration.

Tony: can you (somehow) find out which ASPI ID has been assigned to your real CD-ROM drive, and which to your virtual one? Maybe they've somehow got the same ID, or maybe one of them doesn't have one? Or maybe they're in the opposite order to the drive letters?

ISTR that it's somewhere in the registry. If I remember later, I'll have a poke around when I get to work (and when I'll have a Windows box handy).
_________________________
-- roger

Top
#288291 - 20/10/2006 12:14 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: Roger]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA
Hey, interesting point. I think that when you create the virtual drive in Daemon Tools, you can assign it any ID you like.

When I get back home, maybe I'll have a chance to give it a try before I get too wrapped up in my first week of work at Microsoft.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288292 - 20/10/2006 16:06 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Quote:
...before I get too wrapped up in my first week of work at Microsoft.

Congratulations!

/first I've heard of it.
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#288293 - 20/10/2006 19:41 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
tanstaafl.
carpal tunnel

Registered: 08/07/1999
Posts: 5319
Loc: Ajijic, Mexico
...before I get too wrapped up in my first week of work at Microsoft.

"You don't know the power of the dark side..."

tanstaafl.
_________________________
"There Ain't No Such Thing As A Free Lunch"

Top
#288294 - 21/10/2006 11:48 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tanstaafl.]
pgrzelak
carpal tunnel

Registered: 15/08/2000
Posts: 4859
Loc: New Jersey, USA
Once you go down the dark corridor, forever will it guide your resume.
_________________________
Paul Grzelak
200GB with 48MB RAM, Illuminated Buttons and Digital Outputs

Top
#288295 - 23/10/2006 03:58 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: Robotic]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Registered: 20/12/1999
Posts: 30893
Loc: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Congratulations!

Thanks, guys. I know you'll be giving me some ribbing for it, but keep this in mind: I'll be working on the team that tests the patches and hotfixes that go out. So, being someone who used to complain most vociferously about their bugs, I can now be part of the solution instead. If only a small part.
_________________________
Tony Fabris

Top
#288296 - 23/10/2006 09:26 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
sein
old hand

Registered: 07/01/2005
Posts: 889
Loc: Sector ZZ9pZa
I've heard good things from people about working at Microsoft. Congratulations!
_________________________
Hussein

Top
#288297 - 23/10/2006 19:00 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
Robotic
pooh-bah

Registered: 06/04/2005
Posts: 2026
Loc: Seattle transplant
Quote:
I'll be working on the team that tests the patches and hotfixes that go out.

Nonsense! You should be administering their knowledge database!
_________________________
10101311 (20GB- backup empeg)
10101466 (2x60GB, Eutronix/GreenLights Blue) (Stolen!)

Top
#288298 - 25/10/2006 15:25 Re: Multiple CD-ROM drives in Rio Music Manager? [Re: tfabris]
peter
carpal tunnel

Registered: 13/07/2000
Posts: 4142
Loc: Cambridge, England
Quote:
I'll be working on the team that tests the patches and hotfixes that go out.

Do say thanks from me if you run into anyone who worked on 922814...

Peter

Top