Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#344926 - 09/05/2011 00:26 Anyone cook for your pets?
msaeger
carpal tunnel

Loc: Minnetonka, MN
Our dog was always licking it's feet and to eliminate the possibility of it being caused by a food allergy I starting cooking food for her.

I started with just meat and vegetables for a while then added a grain of some kind. I have been doing this for a few months now.

The issue I am having is the amount to feed. I looked at the Iams website and looked at how many calories a day their food would be for a dog this size and that's how many calories I have been feeding.

Last night we shaved down the dog (it's a Shih Tzu) and thought see looked smaller so we weighed her and found she is three pounds less than the last time we weighed her. She was over weight and even now isn't skinny but I am thinking I should be feeding more. It's hard to say how much she really has lost because we cut a ton of hair off too but when we got her she was 19 pounds and had pretty short hair.

I should probably just go back to the dog food but homemade seems better and I know the dog likes it better.

Matt

#344929 - 09/05/2011 02:16 Re: Anyone cook for your pets? [Re: msaeger]
gbeer
carpal tunnel

Loc: Manteca, California
The Shih Tzu my mom had was a small dog inside of big hair. Sorry I don't remember the weight of the dog.

Here's the breed standard.

According to that 16lbs is considered the top end of the weight for standard. Is your dog physically larger that 19lbs would be good?

#344989 - 10/05/2011 02:35 Re: Anyone cook for your pets? [Re: gbeer]
JBjorgen
carpal tunnel

Loc: Columbus, OH
Quote:
Anyone cook for your pets?

Sure. We also call it "leftovers" and "bones".

#344997 - 10/05/2011 13:28 Re: Anyone cook for your pets? [Re: JBjorgen]
Dignan
carpal tunnel

Loc: Sterling, VA