Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#3862 - 05/04/2000 08:38 Exchanging, not adding HD ?! anyone ?
Nils

Loc: Germany
Hi !
As my warranty gets closer to its end, i start thinking about opening my empeg ...
The task would be to replace the 4 GByte HD with a 12 GByte IBM 2.5" Drive.
I long for info, how to do this, and the only thing i found was a tutorial how to add a second drive ...
How would you exchange the HD with first copying ALL of the data of the original HD ?
Is there a faq or tutorial for it ?

Thank you: Nils

#3863 - 05/04/2000 09:46 Re: Exchanging, not adding HD ?! anyone ? [Re: Nils]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
I've never done this before, but I have a few things to offer up:

1) If you do this, don't use a program like "ghost" or "partition magic" to perform the transfer from one drive to another. One user did this, and the starting sectors of the partitions ended up in places that the Empeg software didn't expect them to be. It's better to use Empeg's tools or the linux software on the Empeg to get the job done.

2) Why would you want to ditch the 4gb drive? What would you do with it if you removed it? Do you have a laptop waiting for it or something? I'd keep the 4 and just add the 12 for a total of 16.