Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#5340 - 24/11/1999 07:12 Another New Amp - What do I do?
phaigh
addict

Loc: Reading, UK
Hi all,

I got my empeg installed two weeks ago (Good job Dominic!).

However, some little git broke into my car last night and (after causing a lot of damage) stole my audio amp, although they didn't get the Empeg (phew!).

Unsurprisingly all of the insurance companies are uninterested, so it's left to me to buy and install a replacement.

I got a Kicker IX402, so I'm going to replace it with the same one, since the thief was kind enough to leave the wires in the same places and gently uncrewed it from the boot.

So, my question is this: what do I have to do when I get the new amp? I can install/wire it up, but do I have to play with amplifier gains or whatnot? I'm a complete car audio novice, but I love tech and am willing to learn....

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Paul Haigh.

Paul Haigh, 6GB, Blue
Reg: 4120 - Serial 00254

#5341 - 25/11/1999 12:34 Re: Another New Amp - What do I do? [Re: phaigh]
Cambscar
journeyman

Loc: Cambridge, UK
Hi Paul,

Sorry to hear about the theft - I know just bad it feels, having had the same thing happen to my own car on a couple of occasions before now. I can't quite work out whether you've got a new amp as yet or not, but if you haven't, give Alex at our place a call (01223 368989). We've not got a 402 in stock right now, but we can get one shipped out from the distributors direct to your door.