Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#83676 - 26/03/2002 17:23 Might Be Loosing My Job, I Could Use Some Help
JeffS
carpal tunnel

Loc: Atlanta, GA
I just found out today that my company could be closing its doors on Monday. I haven't looked for a job in three years, so I was wondering if I could get some tips. I know a lot of you guys are in computer related fields (I am a programmer, mostly Delphi) and may be able to help.
More to the point, I have a resume, but what is the best way to get it to employers online? Do I need a cover letter? What should I say in my email?. I have no idea how to approach this stuff and would like to avoid any turn offs if possible (the programmer market seems terrible here in Houston because Compaq and Enron just dumped a bunch of people here). Thanks in advance for any advice.

-Jeff

#83677 - 26/03/2002 17:24 Re: Might Be Loosing My Job, I Could Use Some Help [Re: JeffS]
tfabris
carpal tunnel

Loc: Seattle, WA
Three words, buddy: Dice Dot Com.

#83678 - 26/03/2002 17:31 Re: Might Be Loosing My Job, I Could Use Some Help [Re: JeffS]
Laura
pooh-bah

Loc: Greenhills, Ohio
I got my present job through monster dot com. Though I didn't get a lot of offers from there. Techs aren't as easily employed as programmers. Seems these days they want you to be able to program it, fix it when it breaks and throw it up on the network. And if you can also design them a web page while you're at it you're in.

MKI #017/90

whatever

#83679 - 26/03/2002 17:35 Re: Might Be Loosing My Job, I Could Use Some Help [Re: Laura]
JeffS
carpal tunnel

"And if you can also design them a web page while you're at it you're in."

Yeah, just looking at jobs, this seems like it could be a problem. My current job had no need for web development, so I don't have any web skills at all .

Hey! I guess I could offer my empeg for a good job. . . Nah, not worth it.

-Jeff