Unoffical empeg BBS

Quick Links: Empeg FAQ | RioCar.Org | Hijack | BigDisk Builder | jEmplode | emphatic
Repairs: Repairs

Topic Options
#127398 - 21/11/2002 15:41 Samba + Wins + Multihomed box = irritation
drakino
carpal tunnel

Ok, I have a Samba box connected to two separate networks. For my sake, lets name them the way we refer to them here, Deadnet (our lab network), and Corpnet (the production network with all the workstations and such).

This box sits on both networks, and has it's default route on the Corpnet. It also has the Wins server address set to a Corpnet Wins server. The Deadnets default gateway allows any machine on that network to see the Corpnet. But, the Corpnet has no way of seeing the Deadnet.

The box initially had eth0 on the Deadnet, and eth1 on the Corpnet. I had Samba running fine, and everyone on the Deadnet could see it. But, the Corpnet side couldn't. Pinging the machine name (but not the full DNS name) resulted in the name resolving to the Deadnet IP, even on the Corpnet side. So I changed the interfaces around so that eth0 is Corpnet, and eth1 is Deadnet. Figuring some obscure cache in Windows would bite me on this, I tried pinging the server from a different Corpnet workstation after rebooting the entire box. Same problem, the name resolved to the Deadnet IP.

How can I fix this? Or maybe it is a caching problem still on the server side, is there a utility out there to directly query the Wins server?

#127399 - 21/11/2002 15:57 Re: Samba + Wins + Multihomed box = irritation [Re: drakino]
wfaulk
carpal tunnel

Loc: Raleigh, NC US
Where are you pinging from? What does it use for name resolution? What exactly are you trying to accomplish?

#127400 - 21/11/2002 18:16 Re: Samba + Wins + Multihomed box = irritation [Re: drakino]
fvgestel
old hand

Loc: Netherlands
try nmblookup :
nmblookup -R -U <ip of wins-server> <name>#<type>